Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Really good! I used oyster sauce since it is what I had on hand and didn't have tumeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Absolutely not authentic. A tip for keeping lemongrass, galangal and kefir lime leaves for those of us whose love them but have a hard time finding them (and don't use them all the time)... freeze them. Put each just as you get them fresh into freezer bags (no washing or other prep). Use them while still frozen by grating or mincing finely into your cooking. Do not thaw first! The freezing breaks down the texture of the lemongrass and lime leaves so that if you use fine bits it will not need to be removed before eating. One caveat, I do strip off the tougher outside of the lemongrass before freezing. You can do regular ginger this way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia Greer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this recipe almost exactly as printed and loved it. Only change... I doubled the pepper and it could still use more. We like it spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Excellent! At the very least...this recipe provides a WONDERFUL jumping off point - then tweak as needed. I did scale recipe up to 8 servings and that made quite a bit. Delish! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is the best soup I've ever tasted. The kids were scared of coconut milk, and wouldn't taste it, but it was so good. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Made this a crock recipe - combined all inggrediants and cooked on high for 4 hours ( also added flash frozen chicken)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenifer
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I couldn't give this 5 stars because it says 1/4 Tbsp. cayenne pepper. I did 1/4 tsp. thinking that must be what they meant, and personally that was still a little too spicy for my mild tastes. I also could not find fish sauce at my little local supermarket so did without it as well as the tumeric. It still tasted good to me and hit the spot for what I'd been craving after having an excellent version of this soup at a little Thai place in Boise, ID. In their soup they had little button mushrooms so I added about 1/2 c. of sliced white mushrooms I had on hand and that was a good addition. Also, I forgot to buy more limes, and depending on size you'll need 2-3 and I only had 1, so I also added fresh lemon juice to equal 1/4 c. I love lime so next time will make sure I have enough and will also search for the fish sauce before I make it again. I've never bought coconut milk before and I had one can of a more expensive brand (A Taste of Thai) and one can of a cheap brand. The more expensive one was super thick and had a lot more fat in it than the cheaper one which seemed very watery but still seemed to taste ok. The quality of your soup will depend greatly on the quality of your ingredients! I also used 1 can chicken broth instead of water. So it was good and next time I'll be sure to do it exactly and see how much different it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Pretty good! all i had was red bell pepper for veg and it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by santitam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was a bust at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This recipe was wonderful, quick, and easy! Like other reviewers, I added more chicken and mushrooms. I love the tumerec and fish sauce in it. I also added sliced white onion into the chicken and then into the broth. I also substituted a bunch of fresh basil for the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States