Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I couldn't give this 5 stars because it says 1/4 Tbsp. cayenne pepper. I did 1/4 tsp. thinking that must be what they meant, and personally that was still a little too spicy for my mild tastes. I also could not find fish sauce at my little local supermarket so did without it as well as the tumeric. It still tasted good to me and hit the spot for what I'd been craving after having an excellent version of this soup at a little Thai place in Boise, ID. In their soup they had little button mushrooms so I added about 1/2 c. of sliced white mushrooms I had on hand and that was a good addition. Also, I forgot to buy more limes, and depending on size you'll need 2-3 and I only had 1, so I also added fresh lemon juice to equal 1/4 c. I love lime so next time will make sure I have enough and will also search for the fish sauce before I make it again. I've never bought coconut milk before and I had one can of a more expensive brand (A Taste of Thai) and one can of a cheap brand. The more expensive one was super thick and had a lot more fat in it than the cheaper one which seemed very watery but still seemed to taste ok. The quality of your soup will depend greatly on the quality of your ingredients! I also used 1 can chicken broth instead of water. So it was good and next time I'll be sure to do it exactly and see how much different it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Pretty good! all i had was red bell pepper for veg and it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by santitam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was a bust at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This recipe was wonderful, quick, and easy! Like other reviewers, I added more chicken and mushrooms. I love the tumerec and fish sauce in it. I also added sliced white onion into the chicken and then into the broth. I also substituted a bunch of fresh basil for the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I really liked this recipe over-all. I made some changes that I would advise against though. I pretty much squeezed the juice from three limes into the pot and that was too much!! Also, it seemed a little thin to me and I think that's because I used low-fat coconut milk. If I would have followed the recipe better I think it would have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKLisaK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was really good. The second time I made it I did not have limes at hand so I used the sweetened lime juice (the type you get for Margaritas) and it was so much better than the first time. I agree with the previous reviewers that sugar adds flavor to it. I also added mushrooms and a red bell pepper the second time around for more texture. We had it with homemade warm naan and it was so good, especially in such freezing weather!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E.H.H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
A good substitute when you just can't get out to a Thai restaurant for the real thing. Be sure to add mushrooms. Works fine without lemongrass and substituting lemon for lime juice. Add a touch of sugar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Was very good, almost like what I get at the restaurant! I took other's suggestions and deleted the turmeric, and added chicken broth instead of the water. I also added plenty of sliced mushrooms, a teaspoon of thai chili paste, lime zest and some fresh lemon grass. Without the extras i think it would have been a bit bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made this to see how it compared to "Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai" also from this site. It was very similar, and the lime juice is essential to this recipe! I liked it, but I think I prefer the other recipe which seems to be more flavorful and includes bok choy for more veggie power.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is a favourite staple now in our house. The kids like it too. I also tested using light coconut milk, like another reviewer and didn't notice the difference in taste. My secret ingredient is a little dash of brown sugar to soften the sour of the lime. If you do this the flavors will come out and the dish won't taste one dimesional. I also add a few red pepper flakes and let my husband add more at the table so that it's not too hot for the kids. I may try a little bit of chile garlic paste next time. I also like to cut my chicken while it's partially frozen, so that I can cut it thin like they do in the Thai restaurants. This is an awesome and EASY recipe that comes really close to the original! If you like Thai flavors you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States