Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I really like this soup, but my boyfriend is turned off by the smell, and it doesn't look nice when you refrigerate it for later. Still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I've been craving this since having it from a Thai restaurant a couple weeks ago. I used low fat coconut milk, cut out the tumeric, used chunks of ginger that I took out after simmering, added 4 Tbl sugar, doubled cilantro, used chicken broth instead of water. Soo good! I did what someone else suggested and added lime slices while it simmered and then took them out. Next time I wouldn't do this because I think it gave it a little bit of a bitter taste. I will also add mushrooms next time like the kind I got at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I thought this was a great soup whether actual Tom Ka Gai or a mock version of it, this is good soup. I changed it some though due to lack of the proper ingredients and a desire to have more to it. I used powered ginger and lemon juice. I didn't use turmeric, green onions, or cilantro. I did however add bay leaves, a spoonful of sugar, red peppers, and celery. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Yum! This recipe is a keeper. I used light coconut milk and substituted tofu and shiitake mushrooms for the chicken. It was quick to make and delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A time to eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I had a craving for Tom Ka Gai, which was strange considering I don't care for it too much. Anyway, I made this as directed but added sugar snap peas to give it some color and crunch. If I had mushrooms I would have added those as well, as others suggested. I also made basmati rice to go with it. Only problem with this recipe is that I only wanted one bowl of it, and didn't know what to do with the rest! I ate it though! :) It came out just like the soup at my favorite Thai restaurant! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Tasty and easy to make but not enough coconut flavor for me. I will try this recipe again but try using cream of coconut as recommended by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Delicious and easy. I used canned chicken, to cut prep time, and a can of straw mushrooms for a fast filling soup. I used chicken broth instead of the water, doubled the lime juice and the cilantro and left out the tumeric and onion. 15 minutes cook time with almost no prep. My family said it was better than the coconut soup we get at the Thai restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Stinking good! New comfort food. I didn't have fresh ginger on hand so I used ground ginger and didn't miss it. We served this over white rice and wished we had leftovers for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Yummy, but next time I'll skip the cilantro and add mushrooms instead. I could see myself eating this for dessert! Substitutions: chicken broth for water, nix the turmeric, add equal sugar with fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I made quite a few revisions according to other reviews and a previous recipe I had: added shiitake mushrooms, carrot, 2 Tbspn sugar, 2 Tbspn soy sauce, slices of garlic, lemongrass, left out the tumeric, used chicken broth in place of water and only 1 can lite coconut milk. This recipe is a great starting point! Easy and exoticly delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States