Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Liked this very much, but made additions and changes. Added Cumin and Lemongrass. Combined "Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai" with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PurushaNatasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is the first time I made Tom Ka and I love this recipe! Super easy! I also added 1 can of chicken broth and I had a left over rotisserie lemon pepper chicken that was a perfect seasoned addition to this recipe! Thank you! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This is excellent!! The only change I made was that I used soy sauce instead of fish sauce for dietary reasons. I wish it was a little spicier, so I would add more cayenne pepper next time, or maybe some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This turned out wonderful! I am so glad my sister recommended this recipe to me, Sept 2012. I left out the oil, cayenne pepper and turmeric. Things I changed: chicken broth instead of water, 1 Tbsp soy sauce instead of fish sauce, chicken drumsticks cooked in the soup instead of boneless chicken meat, finely chopped crystallized ginger instead of fresh ginger. I think I should add chicken pieces instead of chicken drumsticks, a little more soy sauce and ginger next time. Honey thought the soup was okay, but he would rather have the real thing instead of this version. W thought it was good and K didn't really like it. I ended up eating most of the soup and thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This was easy to prepare with ingredients on hand. I did use the trick another reviewer mentioned to add some sugar with the fish sauce. I will try to add lemon grass next time but I usually don't have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Just the way I remember it from my favorite Thai restaurant. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shadowbright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is an awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Despite being a mock version of Tom Ka Gai, it was really good, and the taste very similar to that of the dish in thai restaurants. I added chopped mushrooms, bamboo shoots, and chopped tomatoes to mine to give it a bit more of a robust texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I added lemongrass from another suggestion. This soup is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deebert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
As a previous commenter said, at first this was gross. It really needed some lemongras and sugar and then it was awesome. I added almost 1/4 cup of sugar, but it will probably depend on the type of coconut milk you use. Just add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States