Toll House Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is wonderful! *I'm always asked to bring this pie for any function. I did cut the butter to 1/2 cup as the 1 cup was too greasy. Easy and quick don't even need a mixer for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Excellent!! I only used 1/2 c. butter(1 stick). Thought that 1c. would be too greasy. Loved the flavor of this pie. Just like a gooey toll house cookie in a pie crust. We served with ice cream. Texture and flavors were perfect. Will make again! Thanks Betty for a yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I would say it was almost embarassing how easy this was to make. I cut back the butter, using only 1/2 cup and that was plenty rich enough. This pie is a great make ahead option, you can cut the slices and nuke them for 30 seconds to get that warm tollhouse pie, this stuff isn't anywhere as good cold. The walnuts were a great effect, definitely will stay in my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amtsunshine
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This is very, very rich, but ohh so good. A tiny sliver is all you need to get your chocolate fix. I used the recipe as it was written, but I saw later where it was tried with half the butter and it was just as good. I plan to do that the next time I make this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amtsunshine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
A HUGE hit! Like eating a large, gooey chocolate chip cookie, only better! I brought this dessert to a dinner and EVERYONE had seconds. (I only used 1/2 cup of butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tirtza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Cut the butter by half makes keeps this delicious but way less greasy and loose. Served this twice at coffee hour for our church - and sold several at the church's holiday sale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This pie is one of my FAVORITE pies to make for special events or if I have a sweet tooth. I usually add a 1/4 cup of cocunut shavings to mine which I love. I also use more chocolate chips if I have a major sweet tooth. I also use a full cup to 1 and 1/4 cup butter in mine and half melted and half softened butter. I am going to try not using as much butter and see how it turns out. Overall EVERYONE I make this for loves it, including myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Oh wow this was amazing! So easy and quick and it tastes just like a cookie!!! What more could you want?! I'm keeping this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Undead Raziel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is extremely easy. I accidently left out the flour and the pie turned out wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Just what I was looking for. I used only 1/2 C. of butter and added 1 tsp. of vanilla extract and 1/4 C. of coconut. It was excellent. I did cover the entire pie with foil with 15 minutes of cooking time left so the top was not too brown. I loved this pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States