Toll House Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Excellent!! I only used 1/2 c. butter(1 stick). Thought that 1c. would be too greasy. Loved the flavor of this pie. Just like a gooey toll house cookie in a pie crust. We served with ice cream. Texture and flavors were perfect. Will make again! Thanks Betty for a yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I'm really on the fence about this pie! I used 1/2 c. of butter like the other reviewers said and I can't imagine needing anymore than that. One one hand this pie really did taste like a gooey cookie but on the other hand if I wanted that i'd be better off just making cookies. Although the flavor was good the pie crust seemed to clash with the cookie flavor. Also, it doesn't look that good, for those of you that care about apperance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I would say it was almost embarassing how easy this was to make. I cut back the butter, using only 1/2 cup and that was plenty rich enough. This pie is a great make ahead option, you can cut the slices and nuke them for 30 seconds to get that warm tollhouse pie, this stuff isn't anywhere as good cold. The walnuts were a great effect, definitely will stay in my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
The taste was excellent but I had to cook it for way more time than it said - baked for an extra 20 min and then let it sit in the warm oven for 30 min more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Cut the butter by half makes keeps this delicious but way less greasy and loose. Served this twice at coffee hour for our church - and sold several at the church's holiday sale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is wonderful! *I'm always asked to bring this pie for any function. I did cut the butter to 1/2 cup as the 1 cup was too greasy. Easy and quick don't even need a mixer for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Oh wow this was amazing! So easy and quick and it tastes just like a cookie!!! What more could you want?! I'm keeping this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Undead Raziel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This pie is one of my FAVORITE pies to make for special events or if I have a sweet tooth. I usually add a 1/4 cup of cocunut shavings to mine which I love. I also use more chocolate chips if I have a major sweet tooth. I also use a full cup to 1 and 1/4 cup butter in mine and half melted and half softened butter. I am going to try not using as much butter and see how it turns out. Overall EVERYONE I make this for loves it, including myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
A HUGE hit! Like eating a large, gooey chocolate chip cookie, only better! I brought this dessert to a dinner and EVERYONE had seconds. (I only used 1/2 cup of butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tirtza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Not too bad. I called this Derby Pie growing up. Its really sweet, but good. Served it with vanilla ice cream and drizzled with some chocolate syrup. Pretty much just like i remembered it. My son just told me that he really liked the pie. Didn't give it a 5 because i think it could have been a little bit better. I used 1 stick plus 3 tbsp butter. seemed fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States