Toll House Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The first time I made this recipe I used 1 cup of butter like the recipe calls for. The butter pooled to the top and the pie was absoluetly inedible. Yesterday I cut it down to 1/2 cup butter and had better results. I used a roll-our premade pie crust. I didn't think it was sweet enough although others did. I will try it with 3/4 cup white sugar next time. Also, I will add a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marissa
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I loved this. I adjusted the butter (to 1/2 c), but besides that it was wonderful. topped it with vanilla ice cream, so easy and so delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This pie is heavenly and great for a chocolate addict who has a weakness for chocolate chip cookies. :) I used only 3/4 c. of butter and used a shortbread ready made pie crust. The combination knocked your socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I thought this pie was pretty good. I didn't know what to expect at first as I have never heard of it or made it before. It is very very sweet but very yummy so I can see why so many reviewers suggest a scoop of ice cream ( it would compliment and offset the sweetness of the pie :o)I used 1 c. of chocolate melts and a cup of crumbled walnuts. I started baking the pie at 145 ( forced fan oven ) and turned down the temp to 130 after 30 mins as the pie was already looking done. I ended up baking it for 36 mins in total and I would say it was completely done at that time. Top was nice and the bottom was nice ( not too dark ). It is a sort of gooey pie - a pass between a pecan pie but also tasting like a chocolate chip cookie. Next time I would cook the pie the same way or decrease the start time to 130 and bake it longer, maybe 40-45 mins and see how it goes. A very rich and tasty pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very good with a scoop of ice cream on top, most of my family liked it (6 yr old has a texture thing with food). I decreased the butter to 1/2 cup. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This pie has always been devoured when I have made it, one of my friends even asked me not to bring it over anymore because he always ended up eating the whole thing! I have made this recipe several times, always with a chocolate cookie crust. In a rush, I will purchase a store bought Oreo or chocolate graham crust, which always works out great. When I have the extra time, I buy the expensive chocolate wafers (yellow box, not sure of the name) and process them, mix abt 1 1/2 c crumbs with 6 tbsp melted butter and 1-2 tbsp sugar (to taste). This makes almost a brownie crust at the bottom. After one gooey mess, I followed the advice of other reviewers and reduced the amount of butter in this recipe to 3/4 c, and the result was amazing. I have made this recipe without nuts completely and also using plain or toasted pecans. Also, this pie NEEDS a splash of vanilla. Amazing served with vanilla ice cream! Great pie, always impressive and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Like other reviewers, I reduced the butter to 1/2 cup and used a deep dish pie crust. This is the recipe I've been searching for for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Came out pretty greasy, maybe need to cut down on the butter? But still tasty, especially with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
this was good. gooey in the middle. my chips sank to the bottom and formed a nice chocolate layer. i used a graham cracker crust because i didn't have the other kind. and like others said, i used 1/2 cup butter. it's great warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
this recipes turned out great. It's very rich , but everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States