Toll House Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The first time I made this recipe I used 1 cup of butter like the recipe calls for. The butter pooled to the top and the pie was absoluetly inedible. Yesterday I cut it down to 1/2 cup butter and had better results. I used a roll-our premade pie crust. I didn't think it was sweet enough although others did. I will try it with 3/4 cup white sugar next time. Also, I will add a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marissa
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I loved this. I adjusted the butter (to 1/2 c), but besides that it was wonderful. topped it with vanilla ice cream, so easy and so delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This pie is heavenly and great for a chocolate addict who has a weakness for chocolate chip cookies. :) I used only 3/4 c. of butter and used a shortbread ready made pie crust. The combination knocked your socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I thought this pie was pretty good. I didn't know what to expect at first as I have never heard of it or made it before. It is very very sweet but very yummy so I can see why so many reviewers suggest a scoop of ice cream ( it would compliment and offset the sweetness of the pie :o)I used 1 c. of chocolate melts and a cup of crumbled walnuts. I started baking the pie at 145 ( forced fan oven ) and turned down the temp to 130 after 30 mins as the pie was already looking done. I ended up baking it for 36 mins in total and I would say it was completely done at that time. Top was nice and the bottom was nice ( not too dark ). It is a sort of gooey pie - a pass between a pecan pie but also tasting like a chocolate chip cookie. Next time I would cook the pie the same way or decrease the start time to 130 and bake it longer, maybe 40-45 mins and see how it goes. A very rich and tasty pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very good with a scoop of ice cream on top, most of my family liked it (6 yr old has a texture thing with food). I decreased the butter to 1/2 cup. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This pie has always been devoured when I have made it, one of my friends even asked me not to bring it over anymore because he always ended up eating the whole thing! I have made this recipe several times, always with a chocolate cookie crust. In a rush, I will purchase a store bought Oreo or chocolate graham crust, which always works out great. When I have the extra time, I buy the expensive chocolate wafers (yellow box, not sure of the name) and process them, mix abt 1 1/2 c crumbs with 6 tbsp melted butter and 1-2 tbsp sugar (to taste). This makes almost a brownie crust at the bottom. After one gooey mess, I followed the advice of other reviewers and reduced the amount of butter in this recipe to 3/4 c, and the result was amazing. I have made this recipe without nuts completely and also using plain or toasted pecans. Also, this pie NEEDS a splash of vanilla. Amazing served with vanilla ice cream! Great pie, always impressive and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Like other reviewers, I reduced the butter to 1/2 cup and used a deep dish pie crust. This is the recipe I've been searching for for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Came out pretty greasy, maybe need to cut down on the butter? But still tasty, especially with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
this was good. gooey in the middle. my chips sank to the bottom and formed a nice chocolate layer. i used a graham cracker crust because i didn't have the other kind. and like others said, i used 1/2 cup butter. it's great warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
this recipes turned out great. It's very rich , but everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States