Toll House Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I just won second place in a pie bake off at my neighborhood block carnival party! Topped it off with Coolwhip in a can and chocolate shaving curls for presentation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Batmans Mother

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, and I did not have any problems with excess butter. Make sure you take the time to beat the eggs until foamy, and mix it all very thoroughly. I had a nice, smooth batter to pour into my pie crust, and it baked perfectly for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love/HateCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I had high hopes for this, and made a two pies for a bake sale. Unfortunately, 1 hr. of baking time was much too much for me (I even took them out 20 mins. early!) and the crusts ended up burnt. The filling tasted good, but I don't know how well they will sell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Didn't know what people were talking about about the butter until I served it up... all the extra butter settles into the crust. This was yummy, but will definitely cut the butter next time. Oddly enough the original Tollhouse Chocolate Chip Pie recipe on the Nestle site called for ANOTHER half cup of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Yum! So happy that I found this recipe! They used to serve this at a restaurant I used to work at and I had forgotten how good it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN201

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I made this for a valentines cocktails and chocolate party and it got rave reviews! People wanted to take it home, but my husband didn't want them to because he wanted it! Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was very rich, but delicious. Out of seven pies, and various other desserts that we had for Thanksgiving this was the only one that was completely gone- and quickly! I have had toll house pie at various restaurants, and was expecting something like a chocoate chip cookie in a pie crust. This came out more like a rich chocolate pie- it tasted similar to the chocolate in the middle of chocolate croissants. Very good but very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I have made this recipe about 10 times, everyone LOVES it! I did not have any problems with the butter but probably b/c I never melted the butter...just warmed it up so it was soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pam
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
So I've made this twice. The first time there was just way too much butter. Hubby and I use to get toll house pie at a restaurant we would go to frequently when we were dating & first married. I wanted something less gooey. The taste was there... but the texture was off from all that butter. Also, the pie we're use to had a graham cracker crust. So the next time I made it I cut the butter down to 1/2 cup and didn't melt it. I softened it (It was very soft..some of it melted). I made Graham Cracker Crust from this site first and pressed that in my pie plate and let it sit in the fridge for 30 min before I filled it. Baked for about 55 min (last 10 cover w/ foil) and it was perfect! Still nice & moist. With these modifications, it's a 5 star recipe..but as is, 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
THis was a really great recipe! I halved the butter after reading reviews and I wish I hadn't! I think it would have been much better/richer with the full cup. I also think it needed a dash of salt. Oh - and I used a roll out refridgerator crust. It obviously would have been better with the home-made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States