Toll House Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Following the recipe as written, I had to drain off a good amount of butter when I took the pie out of the oven. On the second try, I cut the butter to 3/4 c., added a dash of salt and a splash of vanilla. Excellent! and the texture is *much* better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This pie was very good. I followed the advise of some other reviewers, and cut back the butter to 1/2 cup. When I was rummaging through my freezer looking for a bag of walnuts that was hiding in there, I found a bag of Heath toffee chips, so I threw in about a half a cup of those too. Added a tsp of vanilla, too. My kitchen timer can be playful, and sometime during the timing process, it started counting backwards. That sly little dickens has done this before. I didn't notice it until I smelled the pie getting what I thought was a little too done. I whisked it out of the oven immediately. It was still very good, but I would have liked it a little more gooey. My husband kept asking "When can I eat this pie?", so I let him go at it while it was still hot. We both liked it very much. It was not the recipe's fault that the pie was a tad overdone. Will definitely make this again and keep an eye on my capricious timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I changed it to 1/2 cup butter. This mixture was perfect for one 9 inch pie shell. It wasn't to gooey or pudding like. it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pam
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
So I've made this twice. The first time there was just way too much butter. Hubby and I use to get toll house pie at a restaurant we would go to frequently when we were dating & first married. I wanted something less gooey. The taste was there... but the texture was off from all that butter. Also, the pie we're use to had a graham cracker crust. So the next time I made it I cut the butter down to 1/2 cup and didn't melt it. I softened it (It was very soft..some of it melted). I made Graham Cracker Crust from this site first and pressed that in my pie plate and let it sit in the fridge for 30 min before I filled it. Baked for about 55 min (last 10 cover w/ foil) and it was perfect! Still nice & moist. With these modifications, it's a 5 star recipe..but as is, 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
My family loves this pie. Its gone within a day when i make it. I always add a whole bag of the chocolate chips instead of just a cup. I think that thats also what fixs the problem with the extra butter that some people said they have. And make sure the butter is cooled when you make this, if you leave the butter hot, it makes the pie gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I made it the first way as given, and then improvised for an improved version the second time around (at least according to my friends and me). Cut the butter to 3/4 C, add 1 tsp of pure vanilla extract and add 1 cup of old fashioned (e.g. non-instant) oats. It cuts down on the richness greatly, but gives it great texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
One of our favorites here -- we make a few small changes. First I only use 1/2 cup butter, I also add a pinch of salt, a teeny bit of vanilla and I also add a small pinch of instant coffee. With the few additions it really brings out the flavor of the chocolate. We've also discovered we like it with a 1/2 and 1/2 mixture of semi-sweet chocolate chips and milk chocolate chips. Absolutely fantastic with some vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I have made this 3 times so far, it is one of the easiest and best desserts around. It is good warm or at room temp, with wh. cream, ice cream or plain. I haven't found anyone who doesn't like it. Awesome and fast. Thanks so much!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Delicous, However... Too much better. It was just dripping everywhere. Be sure to put foil under the pie as it will also over flow. Mine took 10 minutes extra to firm and even then it was soupy. Cooling did help. I think with a few modifications, this could be 5+ star recipe. Second time around made it with 1 stick butter and added 1 tsp. Vanilla. now a 5 star. serve warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I've baked this pie several times before using the recipe as written. I read several of the reviews and made the following changes with great results: reduce butter to 1/2 cup, add 2 tsp vanilla extract and 2 tsp instant espresso granules. Blend the eggs and sugar thoroughly before gradually adding the melted butter. The filling is really thick. Bake as directed. Excellent results! Tastes like a thick, chewy chocolaty chocolate chip cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States