Toll House Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This recipe is the BEST!! So much better than a plain old chocolate chip cookie. Excellent topped with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleynicole
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Turned out kinda like blonde brownies w/ a crust. I baked this in an 8x8 square glass dish. Instead of a pie crust, I Did a shortbread crust ("Shortbread Crust") from this site. It'll seem like its not done after the entire 1hr of baking, but if really is, it just needs to sit and chill for a bit. Definitely tastes good w/ ice cream on the side. The conistency of this, in my opionion, works a little better w/ 1/8 cup added flour and 1/4 cup subtracted butter and no nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This recipe was just okay for me. I followed the recipe exactly except for the part about the nuts, which is a personal dislike for me. But the chips melted in the pie mixture and it turned into just a weaker chocolate pie with brown sugar. My family liked it because they are not huge chocoholics, but I probably will not be making it again without some revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Verona, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Delicious pie! I add 1/2 tsp each of vanilla and salt and I also only use 1/2 c. of butter. I love this pie and it's so easy to make and to multiply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Wow! What a treat! I also cut back the butter to 1/2 cup and it came out perfect. I added 1/2 cup of coconut the last time, and it seemed to make the pie a little more moist. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
great recipe, very easy to make. To keep the chocolate chips from falling to the bottom of the pie, i used an electric beater to slightly beat the filling before putting it in the crust. it made the filling slightly thicker and held the chips in place! Baked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Yummm!! I only use one stick of butter and I don't melt it. I just soften it and it comes out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I made it the first way as given, and then improvised for an improved version the second time around (at least according to my friends and me). Cut the butter to 3/4 C, add 1 tsp of pure vanilla extract and add 1 cup of old fashioned (e.g. non-instant) oats. It cuts down on the richness greatly, but gives it great texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was a great recipe, my wife loved it. It may be a bit rich for some, but for Chocoholics it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WICKYWOOWOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This pie was a hit at our New Years Day Dinner! I did make a couple of very minor changes to the recipe. I added 1/2 cup more of chocolate chips and 1 cup of butterscotch chips. Those were the only two additions. I will be making this pie again! It has already been requested! Oh also, we did try with cool whip but I do think it would have been better with vanilla ice cream. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States