Toll House Crumbcake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
We liked this but boy is it ever sweet and chocolately. And that was even with cutting the chocolate on the topping down to once cup. I took other's recommendations and used mini morsels for in the cake, but used regular ones for on top. I used the 1-1/2 cups mini morsels for inside the cake, which seemed just right. I think we might have liked it better with just a crumble top and no chocolate mixed in the topping, and that's coming from someone who is a major choco-holic. Overall, very good, but makes a lot and is very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Yum!! This DOES taste like a cookie in cake form! I had about a quarter of a bag of Mini chocolate chips, so just used that up. (Didn't measure). I should've doubled the topping, but was still great with the regular amount. Was done faster than expected - about 35 minutes. Kids went absolutely wild for this, so will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I made this crumbcake for a church gathering and it was very well received. As per the suggestions of other "raters," I basically doubled the ingredients used the crumb topping (excluding the chocolate chips - 2 cups for the crumb topping is plenty). I also simply used a whole bag of chocolate chips for the cake portion of the recipe (it only resulted in maybe an additional 1/2 cup of chips being used). Everyone loved it. Many guests asked for the recipe which gave me the opportunity to brag about the "allrecipes.com" web site. Delicious crumbcake that was very easy to make. I wouldn’t hesitate to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I would use mini chocolate chips next time. The recipe was good but it tasted like a huge chocolate chip cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This turned out well. It makes a large 13 x 9 pan of coffee cake so it would be good for a larger group or to bring into the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Very good! I halved the recipe to fit a 8x8 but kept the original amount of topping. I used mini morsels and decreased the amount for both the topping and the cake. I slowly poured in the choc. chips and mixed them in until it looked like a good amount. Because I halved the recipe, I baked it at 350 for about 36 mins. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made this with mini morsels- 1 1/2 C for the topping & 3/4 C for the cake. The cake was kind of dry & just ok. I won't make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Very good. Followed recipe exactly and it turned out very good. Would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This tastes great!! I didn't put all the chips in the topping. It calls for 2 many. I also followed someone else’s suggestion and made extra topping. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This was good but I didn't think it was spectacular or anything. My husband liked it more than I did. I used mini chocolate chips as other reviewers suggested and I agree with previous reviews that the amount of choclate chips is a little excessive. You could probably get away with 1 1/3 cups of choclate chips in the topping and still have more than enough. I also agree that it's better the next day. I will make this again though. It's a nice change from a regular cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States