Toll House Crumbcake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I made three small changes: I used half brown/half white sugars in the actual cake recipe, I used a bag of Hershey's chocolate/peanut butter chips and a half bag of Hershey's semi sweet chunks and I used pecans instead of walnuts. I made no other changes or substitutions. This was very easy to assemble, the directions absolutely outlined the steps clearly which was great because I made this dessert with my two boys. Just over 45 minutes was just right for me. It's cooling now but I'll update my review once my family as a chance to taste-test it. As it sits, it is a very pretty dessert. It looks like a chocolate chip cookie in cake form! NOTE: 45 minutes was WAY too long! DO NOT overbake, it becomes dry as heck. Because of my mistake, this turned out less than great. We ended up cutting away the edges and eating the middle, which was pretty freaking tasty. I was more upset that half of this got tossed as I hate waste. I'll make this again because it's really freaking good but I'll cut back on the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This cake was so addictive. I followed the recipe exactly, but looking back I think I will take the suggestions of using mini morsels. The regular morsels seemed to weigh the cake down. Overall though, really moist and delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
A little too much chocolate for me. I reduced to 1 1/2 cups in the cake and about 1/2 cup in the topping. Using mini morsels is good here too. Makes for a little lighter version. More cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I'm glad I waited a couple days to rate this recipe - it definitely improves with time! The flavors really richen. Next time I'll double (or close to) the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
very easy and great taste!...if you need more than the recipe calls for, don't double it, make two seperate batches...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This recipe is similar to a recipe that I make. If you love chocolate then you'll love this cake. My family said to cut back on the chocolate chips next time and I agreed. Also, they prefer the cinnamon and sugar topping then the crumb topping. The cake does come out very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Very yummy! It tastes just like a cake version of a Toll House cookie. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and only added 1/2 cup chocolate chips to the topping and 1 1/2 cups in the batter. It was just right. If I had followed the recipe exactly, it definitely would've been chocolate overkill. This recipe is a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
This was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly minus the nuts (my kids don't like them). Like a really good chocolate chip cookie brownie! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Holy cow, awesome. I used chocolate chunks & pecans instead of walnuts (personal preference) & it's like cookie dough in cake form. For me, that's a win! Ooozing chocolate, yummie cake, highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Mmmmmm...this smells so good while it is baking! Everyone made their way to the kitchen during baking time to ask what the yummy smell was! I did not wait for it to cool before cutting...I just couldn't do it. It's delicious warm with a sprinkling of powdered sugar. Next time I'll do like others and double the topping...minus the nuts. I left those out. Really good! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States