Toll House Crumbcake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Very easy to make . Great with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was good, but didn't wow us. The crumbly top layer is by far the best part. My husband gave it a "6 of 10." While we enjoyed it, I wouldn't make again. I prefer the Toll House Pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I made three small changes: I used half brown/half white sugars in the actual cake recipe, I used a bag of Hershey's chocolate/peanut butter chips and a half bag of Hershey's semi sweet chunks and I used pecans instead of walnuts. I made no other changes or substitutions. This was very easy to assemble, the directions absolutely outlined the steps clearly which was great because I made this dessert with my two boys. Just over 45 minutes was just right for me. It's cooling now but I'll update my review once my family as a chance to taste-test it. As it sits, it is a very pretty dessert. It looks like a chocolate chip cookie in cake form! NOTE: 45 minutes was WAY too long! DO NOT overbake, it becomes dry as heck. Because of my mistake, this turned out less than great. We ended up cutting away the edges and eating the middle, which was pretty freaking tasty. I was more upset that half of this got tossed as I hate waste. I'll make this again because it's really freaking good but I'll cut back on the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was very tasty and I love that it is a 9x13 pan. I made the recipe as is. Some reviewers said to add more topping but I found the receipe as is was good enough. The first day, it was the consistency of a coffee cake, the second, after putting it in the refrigerator, more like a bar. And I do agree that I liked it better that way but either way it was very tasty. I mixed white, milk and dark reg chips. I made this a second time using applesauce in place of the sour cream and using whole wheat flour for the cake part (not the crumb mixture) as suggested by another reviewer and liked it better than the first time. I liked the second version as a 5 and the 1st as a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Holy cow, awesome. I used chocolate chunks & pecans instead of walnuts (personal preference) & it's like cookie dough in cake form. For me, that's a win! Ooozing chocolate, yummie cake, highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I found this to be just ok. It needed more topping I think and maybe some of the topping mix in the middle. It didn't go over well with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Excellent, and with so much chocolate it's a guaranteed hit with the little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
WOW.....this was great and a chocolate lovers breakfast...work went nuts over it...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Very very delicious! Melts in your mouth, so chocolatey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliRose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
All I can say is oh my god! This is so good. I always get requests for this recipe when I make it. For the topping double everything except the chocolate chips. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jentroj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States