Tofu with Tomatoes and Balsamic Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I made a double batch as I had extra tofu to use up. I think that was a little too much vinegar, so will add to taste next time. Turned out yummy! Added black beans for extra fiber :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
We made this last night as a side with portabello burgers--very tasty! It was great warm last night but also delish cold for lunch today. The only change we made was to throw in some red bells too b/c we had them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe, but my family...not so much. My son felt it had way too much vinegar. I disagree, but I do love balsamic. I used a green and a yellow pepper and we served over brown rice. Probably won't make again because the family didn't love it, but I would recommend it if you're looking for a tofu dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I'll admit to making just a couple of changes (as you can see from the photo!) I had to use red and orange bell peppers because my green one was WELL past the point of use. I also only had plain tomatoes, so I added some chopped garlic and Italian seasoning to make up for it. And I added mushrooms...because they were about to go the way of the green bell pepper and I couldn't stand to waste them! This was great and I intend on making it again with the green bell peppers, but it's always nice to have a recipe like this in your arsenal that uses common ingredients (at least in my fridge) and comes together for a quick meal. I served it over whole wheat pasta and it was light, filling, and I now have leftovers for lunch! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I tried this recipe today. I've never cooked tofu before but this was a wonderful introduction into it. Never again would I distrust tofu....it tasted great. I added portobella mushrooms just to add more veggie meatiness to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This was pretty tasty. It definitely needs to be served over something. Pasta or couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Delicious. Would be really good on a bed of rice or couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This was great!! I had some garden tomatoes to use up, so went w/ another reviewer's suggestion and used them plus some dried basil and oregano, plus 3 large garlic cloves, minced. Also added chunks of mushroom. Very simple, but very flavorful and good! We thought the vinegar was just the right amount. Did serve it over brown rice. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I did some improvisation and was thrilled. Instead of onions I added leeks and to the vinegar I added a teaspoon of minced ginger. I only had cherry tomatoes so halved 40 and used instead of regular tomato. Dish was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe. I didn't change a thing. Thank you to the Chef! I did serve it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States