Tofu and Veggies in Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
this was pretty yummy! changes i made: i used rice vinegar, i omitted the mushrooms and added a sweet onion, i used pure peanutbutter (no salt or sugar added), i added the juice of a lime, i added 1 tbsp of ginger, i sauteed the tofu in the oil first until browned then added the veggies, i added 1/2 cup of crushed peanuts at the end, i served this with white rice and added some salt, next time i would add some fresh cilantro. since my peanutbutter didnt have any sugar in it, i added the full amount of molasses and it was not too sweet. Thanks for this scrumptious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was a great recipe. I substituted the molasses with brown rice syrup, fried the tofu with ginger and garlic, added some shiitake mushrooms and baby corn. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Loved it! Will make this again. I also took the advice of previous reviewers and added garlic, ginger to the oil, and used more veggies like carrots and snap peas. I did not have cayenne, so used crushed red pepper flakes in the sauce and also to season the tofu as it cooked. I was skeptical about the sauce - it seemed thin - but it thickened up nicely when I added it to the hot wok. I finished with a squeeze of lime juice (had seen that in a peanut sauce recipe on this website) and thought it added a real nice touch to this dish. Overall an excellent dish and one that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I made several modifications from suggestions of previous ratings. I used half sesame oil & half vegetable oil instead of peanut oil, a frozen bag of mix veggies (carrots, broccoli, zucchini, snap peas, green beans & lima beans), chicken instead of tofu (boyfriend's request), brown sugar & honey instead of molasses & lots of garlic & chili pepper sauce (Chinese, found in any asian grocery store) instead of cayenne pepper. I whisked the peanut sauce to make sure it was smooth since my peanut butter had been in the fridge. I thought the peanut butter was a bit strong in this flavor and might cut down to 1/3 cup but my boyfriend loved it & gobbled it up and I found my bowl completely empty. I served over brown rice. Great recipe! Love peanut butter!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yeongmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
was ok by itself, but when I put it on spaghetti it was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This is a great recipe. I did what other reviewers suggested and cooked the tofu first with a little garlic and ginger. I also added lots more veggies including carrots and snap peas and served it on a bed of brown rice. My husband and 3 year old gobbled this up especially the tofu. I did cook up some chicken as well for my hubby and the peanut sauce was great on there too. Next time I will add more cayenne to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Severance, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Excellent! What a nice change of tast for dinner. I would've added more soy sauce and less peanut butter, but my husband loved it just like it was. We will definitely fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I used extra firm tofu , used some fresh ginger /garlic paste also ,1/2 of chopped red onions , some hot red pepper powder and way to go ...a great way to eat tofu...thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
A little to watery, maybe add some sesame oil and OJ insted of the water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States