Tofu and Veggies in Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This was yummy. My husband thought it was a little too peanutty, not me though. We'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Used rice vinegar and tamari (for soy sauce). Also added 1 tsp crushed ginger & 1 tbsp garlic. Stirred in lo mein noodles once the sauce & veggie mixture thickened. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Slone

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
An excellent meal that is easy to make. The vegetables give the meal a fresh quality, and the sauce makes it hearty. Next time, I will use less molasses and a bit more cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
this was pretty yummy! changes i made: i used rice vinegar, i omitted the mushrooms and added a sweet onion, i used pure peanutbutter (no salt or sugar added), i added the juice of a lime, i added 1 tbsp of ginger, i sauteed the tofu in the oil first until browned then added the veggies, i added 1/2 cup of crushed peanuts at the end, i served this with white rice and added some salt, next time i would add some fresh cilantro. since my peanutbutter didnt have any sugar in it, i added the full amount of molasses and it was not too sweet. Thanks for this scrumptious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was a great recipe. I substituted the molasses with brown rice syrup, fried the tofu with ginger and garlic, added some shiitake mushrooms and baby corn. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Loved it! Will make this again. I also took the advice of previous reviewers and added garlic, ginger to the oil, and used more veggies like carrots and snap peas. I did not have cayenne, so used crushed red pepper flakes in the sauce and also to season the tofu as it cooked. I was skeptical about the sauce - it seemed thin - but it thickened up nicely when I added it to the hot wok. I finished with a squeeze of lime juice (had seen that in a peanut sauce recipe on this website) and thought it added a real nice touch to this dish. Overall an excellent dish and one that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I made several modifications from suggestions of previous ratings. I used half sesame oil & half vegetable oil instead of peanut oil, a frozen bag of mix veggies (carrots, broccoli, zucchini, snap peas, green beans & lima beans), chicken instead of tofu (boyfriend's request), brown sugar & honey instead of molasses & lots of garlic & chili pepper sauce (Chinese, found in any asian grocery store) instead of cayenne pepper. I whisked the peanut sauce to make sure it was smooth since my peanut butter had been in the fridge. I thought the peanut butter was a bit strong in this flavor and might cut down to 1/3 cup but my boyfriend loved it & gobbled it up and I found my bowl completely empty. I served over brown rice. Great recipe! Love peanut butter!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yeongmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
was ok by itself, but when I put it on spaghetti it was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This is a great recipe. I did what other reviewers suggested and cooked the tofu first with a little garlic and ginger. I also added lots more veggies including carrots and snap peas and served it on a bed of brown rice. My husband and 3 year old gobbled this up especially the tofu. I did cook up some chicken as well for my hubby and the peanut sauce was great on there too. Next time I will add more cayenne to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Severance, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States