Tofu and Veggies in Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
A very easy dish to prepare. I substituted and used canola oil and honey. Also pan-fried the tofu in advance with some chopped onions and added garlic in the last minute or so. The family liked this dish a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This has become a staple in my household! It's a very versatile recipe, so this is a great way to use up those veggies -- I love throwing in carrots, water chestnuts, and anything else I've got on hand. Unfortunately, my husband doesn't like tofu nearly as much as I do, so I generally make it with chicken instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBIF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I cooked this for a friend and we both loved it. I had been looking for a good peanut curry recipe like one of my favorite entrees at our Indian restaraunt. I used this as the base. I sauteed the tofu with garlic and ginger first until brown, I like it crispy outside. I left out the molasses and I didn't want to use regular peanut butter because of the sweetness so I threw 1/2 cup of peanuts in my food processor and used the powder to make the sauce. I also added 2 tbsp curry powder and extra cayenne to make it spicy. Thank you, I will be making this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I added carrots and ate this with buckwheat soba noodles and enjoyed it immensely. The only reason I gave four stars was that my dinner companion said that it was bland. Next time I will not share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
this is a great template to work with. the sauce is really good and you can tweak to add more or less of the veggies you like. i like to thin the sauce with a little light coconut milk (just to get it the consistency you like). also, marinating and baking tofu makes it much more flavorful. marinate it in sauce overnight after seueezing and chopping it. then bake on a greased baking sheet at 300 for 1-2 hours, turning periodically. it is a lot of work, but SO much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mollywally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
The sauce seperated. I don't know why. Perhaps a more adept cook a than myself can shed some light. I used the sauce anyway and enjoyed the whole dish. I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Very good comfort, stick to your ribs sort of meal-scaled for 2. I did as others, drained tofu well then put in freezer 30 min., cooked w/ garlic (spray olive oil), removed cooked the random veggies I had on hand, peanuts for crunch, added sauce and served over brown rice. Sauce - used brown sugar/honey, rice vinegar, lots of cy. pepper., low fat PB. and added some lime juice. I think I used a total of 5 cloves of garlic between tofu and veggies so it was VERY garlicky. Next time I would add more pepper and maybe use crunchy PB and add water chestnuts for crunch to cut down on some calories. Very easy and good thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by secretsmile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Yummy! We love Thai food and this hit the spot! I had a bag of frozen veggies handy, so I used those instead. I cooked them for about 10 minutes before adding the tofu. My hubby loved it. This recipes is a keeper and we will probably have it on a weekly basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I wasen't very impressed with this recipe. I don't know if I didn't follow the directions right, but this was not so good. The sauce was thick, with the look and consistancy of brown gravy and I wasen't fond of the sweet and peanut buttery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surpriseitswendy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Delilcious but didn't have quite the intensity of flavor I was expecting. I would make it again but add more chiles/hot pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSNOEL
Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States