Tofu and Veggies in Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I was actually surprised at how good this was. I really enjoyed it. I did make a few alterations though (I usually don't like to change anything the first time I make it because I don't feel as thought it is really a fair rating but I didn't have all the ingredients on hand). I used honey instead of molasses, sesame oil instead of peanut oil, and rice vinegar instead fo regular. It turned out wonderful. It was also very simple to prepare. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Very nice recipe as-is. With modifications, definitely a 5 star recipe! I sauteed the tofu in ginger and garlic first, as others suggested, omitted molasses and used 1 Tbsp honey instead, and used 1/4 cup peanut butter and 1/4 cup ground peanuts (done in food processor). I also added sugar snap peas and a jalapeno pepper for heat. It's excellent served over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adrienne
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This was excellent... I added more peanut butter, substituted the coconut milk for water and stir fried the tofu first in garlic and ginger... Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Very good! I made for my husband and brother for dinner. They loved it. I thought there was a little too much peanut butter - next time I will half the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This recipe was quite good, though I didn't add the molasses and took the advice of others to use natural peanut butter. I also made some rice noodles and tossed them in the sauce prior to pouring over veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
A very easy dish to prepare. I substituted and used canola oil and honey. Also pan-fried the tofu in advance with some chopped onions and added garlic in the last minute or so. The family liked this dish a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This has become a staple in my household! It's a very versatile recipe, so this is a great way to use up those veggies -- I love throwing in carrots, water chestnuts, and anything else I've got on hand. Unfortunately, my husband doesn't like tofu nearly as much as I do, so I generally make it with chicken instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBIF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I cooked this for a friend and we both loved it. I had been looking for a good peanut curry recipe like one of my favorite entrees at our Indian restaraunt. I used this as the base. I sauteed the tofu with garlic and ginger first until brown, I like it crispy outside. I left out the molasses and I didn't want to use regular peanut butter because of the sweetness so I threw 1/2 cup of peanuts in my food processor and used the powder to make the sauce. I also added 2 tbsp curry powder and extra cayenne to make it spicy. Thank you, I will be making this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I added carrots and ate this with buckwheat soba noodles and enjoyed it immensely. The only reason I gave four stars was that my dinner companion said that it was bland. Next time I will not share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
this is a great template to work with. the sauce is really good and you can tweak to add more or less of the veggies you like. i like to thin the sauce with a little light coconut milk (just to get it the consistency you like). also, marinating and baking tofu makes it much more flavorful. marinate it in sauce overnight after seueezing and chopping it. then bake on a greased baking sheet at 300 for 1-2 hours, turning periodically. it is a lot of work, but SO much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mollywally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States