Tofu and Veggies in Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Fantastic! I sautéed ginger, garlic, & tofu in olive oil for a good 15 mins before adding extra veggies to the recipe. I used a bit less molasses as mentioned it may be sweet. I served the dish on a bed of quinoa, a perfectly light accompaniment. I would recommend serving this on quinoa or brown rice. This will definitely be a regular meal in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I found the sauce too thick and heavy. But it was yummy nonetheless. I added way more veggies than the recipe called for and also introduced some new ones like onions and carrots. I fried the tofu first with garlic and ginger but the garlic ended up burning. So next time I'll fry the tofu first by itself and fry the garlic and ginger with the veggies. Also, I'm going to try honey instead of molasses. I think with tweaking this recipe could deserve 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Sauce was too thick. Even when I added more water it would thicken immediately. Will use less peanut butter next time if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Peanut flavor was a little overwhelming. Next time I will make sure I have fresh lime to cut it a little. Not a bad meal though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keflavík, Suðurnes, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Yummy! This was great and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I added green onions and carrots to the vegetable medley. I sauteed a clove of garlic, some grated ginger in the peanut oil... and then added the tofu. Over all it was great. I would have made brown rice to go with it to soak up the peanut sauce. :) Next time I make this I will experiment with the peanut sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I originally gave this 4 stars because I didn't like how the tofu turned out. After freezing and thawing the tofu, on the other hand, the tofu is much better and meatier. I have to switch my rating to 5 stars because I gave it 4 stars 2 years ago and since then I make this recipe ALL the time and love it...so I think it deserves 5. I make it with whatever vegies I have on hand though, which usually ends up just being broccoli. Freezing the tofu first is a must though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Very good, and very easy if you buy vegetables that are pre-cut/chopped/shredded. I doubled the sauce and added a package of angel hair pasta because I was feeding a hungry crowd. The only negative for this recipe was that the sauce was a little too bland. I added fresh ginger (and would have added some crushed red pepper flakes if I had had any!) and it helped a lot. Very easy, healthy and tasty...this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
The peanut sauce was a nice change from the ordinary, however I found it to be a little too overpowering. Not bad though, and would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
We enjoyed the flavor of this recipe, but there was entirely too much sauce on the veggies. I guess everyones idea of "small" is different ('small head of broccoli', 'small red bell pepper') but I really wish I had added a little sauce at a time instead of dumping it all in at once. My boyfriend made rice to serve it over after I realized there was too much sauce, and that solved the problem. I didn't have molasses so I used honey with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States