Tofu and Veggies in Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is a great recipe! Very flexible and quick - ready in 20 minutes max. It can be made gluten-free or can be changed up depending on what you have available. It makes a delicious sauce over the stir fry, and can be served over rice. I used broccoli slaw, sliced mushrooms, omitted soy sauce (gluten), and peppers (because I don't like them). My husband added soy sauce to his - and he said it was a "5/5"...quite a complement for someone who doesn't really care for tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Photo by bltprflegs
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This has become a weekly staple in my house! I never have molasses on hand though, so I just substitute honey and it tastes great! Oh it's sooo good it's become one of my favorite dishes! I do a little more prep work to the tofu first though since I'm a vegetarian and hubby isn't - so the 'meatier' the texture the better for him. I get extra firm tofu on grocery day and freeze it first. Then defrost, wrap in paper towels and press between two plates with a heavy weight on top. Then slice and 'dry fry' the tofu first - nonstick pan on medium heat, no oil, pressing all the water out with a spatula as it cooks. Then I just toss in the tofu slices after the veggies are cooked! It IS a bit more time-consuming but if you're new to tofu or just prefer that dense, chewy texture it's worth it! I prepare ALL of my tofu dishes this way now and hubby no longer complains! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Awesome!!!! And easy. My 11 year old daughter who hates tofo, now loves it due to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tooncecat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
needs 2 tablespoons of brown sugar in the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
It was great. I also fried the tofu beforehand. I added extra veggies and would even add more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was a great recipe; my husband and I really enjoyed it. I crisped the tofu in a little oil, then added it at the end per other reviews. It will definitely be a staple tofu recipe in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Wow this was tasty! The sauce gets better as you cook it, and even after you let it sit for a couple of minutes. The best time to tweak ingredients is after a minute or 2 of simmering, so if you doubt any of the amounts and don't want to overcook the veggies, get it started in a separate saucepan and add it to the veggies and pre fried tofu when the taste is to your liking. My subs were: 1tbsp dark soy for the 2 regular and molasses to taste (for me was only one tbsp). I topped it with peanuts and spring onions and served it with a brown rice, barley and cilantro pilaf with lime wedges on the side. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Nice peanut sauce. I added a bit of onions, garlic, jalepeno, and cilantro when I fried up the tofu first and then added the veggies and mushrooms and let them steam on top before adding the peanut sauce. Would definitely make again although I definitely wouldn't add the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Followed the recipe, and this was good, but a little sticky. I would use this recipe again, but I would need to think of a way to thin out the sauce a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Yummy! I double the sauces and added onions and thai hot sauce instead of cayenne - at first. It wasn't spicy enough for my taste so I went ahead and added the cayenne. A remarkably simple but DELICIOUS meal! Very filling too! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States