Tofu and Veggies in Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I used almond butter thinking I would enjoy this recipe change. I felt the sauce was too thick and over powering. I would try to fry the tofu first, before other veggies, and substitute molasses with honey or brown sugar, as other reviewers suggested. I might try this recipe one more time with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This has become a staple in our house. Like others, we like the tofu better if pan-fried first -- we let it fry while chopping up the veggies. The recipe is very flexible for any veggies you want -- my preference is broccoli, onion, bamboo shoots and mushrooms. I also add some spicy chili paste to the sauce, which adds a bit more texture than just cayenne. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Very tasty stir fry with a sauce/flavoring that is unlike most Asian dishes I have eaten. I made two modifications in the I omitted the vinegar and added a good douse of Sriracha sauce to the peanut butter sauce. It has a very interesting sweet, yet spicy taste to it that I and my husband liked. Next time, we will probably cut the tofu into small pieces so that there are more tough/browned edges and less soft/squishy insides. Overall, a very good recipe asides from the vinegar, but probably one that caters to a particular taste in food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I'm the only one who liked this..l perhaps less peanut butter??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Made as written (with the exception of adding extra veggies & crisp frying the tofu) and wasn't entirely impressed. My sauce was runny and not very flavorful. I think the brand of peanut butter you use changes how much water you need.I use natural (with the oil drained off). I had to add double the peanut butter , vinegar, & soy. I highly suggest only using 2 Tbls H20 to start & thinning as needed. But with a thicker sauce, some cilantro, and chili sauce it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
My husband and I were not a fan! Even though we love tofu, this sauce was too thick and overpowering. Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I have loved this website for years and have never written a review until now. This recipe was just that good. I highly recommend doing what other reviewers said and frying up the tofu separately, it will just fall apart if you cook it with the veggies. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly as far as measurements, but I did use honey instead of molasses, red pepper flakes instead of cayenne and I added an extra tblspn of Sesame Oil with the Peanut Oil because I love the flavor. For the peanut butter, I HIGHLY recommend All Natural Chunky. It was still sweet enough and the peanuts in it were a nice touch. Oh and I also added green onions at the end and fresh squeezed lime gave it a nice touch as did fresh chopped garlic to the veggies, but I do that with every dish :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salata41

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is a great recipe. Easy to make. I recommend using natural peanut butter - easy to work with and better for you. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zudok

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
We love peanut sauces and we love all the ingredients, but it was so peanut buttery that we couldn't even stomach it. If we were to try again, we would use far less peanut butter, more soy sauce, and perhaps some vegetable stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Has to be one of my fav' vegan/vegetarian dish that I have made to date.. Very tasty, a nice thai twang to it, the family and I all loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States