Tofu and Veggies in Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This is a great dish! Took everyone's advice: cooking the tofu first in a bit of oil, garlic, & ginger is a must! We used peanut and sesame oil; added sesame seeds to the tofu & then the veggies as they cooked. We used natural peanut butter, and put over wheat noodles, sprinkled with some sesame seeds. Delicious! I made this for my dad and brother, who were skeptical of the tofu, but my dad had seconds :-). Really great recipe! Thanks for sharing! (Note: doesn't re-heat as well as when freshly cooked.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Coming from a college student, I absolutely LOVE this recipe, and it's quickly becoming a staple. I don't consider myself particularly creative when it comes to cooking, but this recipe is so versatile, I can add pretty much anything I want and it will still be delicious! (When made as directed, I got all of the ingredients--I didn't already have most of them like sesame oil--for around $20, and got 8 meals out of it.. not too bad for something this good and relatively healthy!) The second time around I played around with the sauce by adding coconut milk and ginger. I also cooked the tofu in the oven with garlic and some more ginger. I also bought all of the veggies I could get my hands on (within reason of course) and had extra ginger, so I thought "what the heck" and threw that in too. The result was a TON of peanutty gingery delicious food. My 3 roommates and I have all had GENEROUS portions over angel hair pasta and there is still a ton left! Lucky me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Loved it, very tasty i can't believe I've made it and actually taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
i'd add orange juice to the peanut butter ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Didn't care for it. The sauce was too heavy and rich for our taste buds. Liked the tofu and veggie combo though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amilou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I suggest pan frying the tofu separately. Against my better judgment, I tried stir frying it all together- it was an aweful mess. Flavors are great, but the tofu sucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
The only thing I would change is cutting the amount of peanut sauce just a bit .... Just like a bit more veggie flavor and a bit less peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This was my first adventure into vegan cooking and this was amazing! I used the advice of some of the other users and did the tofu first with garlic and ginger and then the veggies and combined it all before adding the sauce. This is definitely going to be a go-to recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Wonderful, balanced flavor. I would just make more sauce next time as I served it over rice, and it became a bit dry with the rice soaking up the sauce. Also, don't forget to drain the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRoth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States