Tofu and Veggies in Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Yummy! We love Thai food and this hit the spot! I had a bag of frozen veggies handy, so I used those instead. I cooked them for about 10 minutes before adding the tofu. My hubby loved it. This recipes is a keeper and we will probably have it on a weekly basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I wasen't very impressed with this recipe. I don't know if I didn't follow the directions right, but this was not so good. The sauce was thick, with the look and consistancy of brown gravy and I wasen't fond of the sweet and peanut buttery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surpriseitswendy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Delilcious but didn't have quite the intensity of flavor I was expecting. I would make it again but add more chiles/hot pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSNOEL
Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I made this for dinner last night and I loved it. It's one of the best tofu recipes I have had so far. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Deliciously addictive. I didn't actually try the recipe strictly as written, but followed some of the advice from other posters. I fried the tofu first so it got a crispy exterior (I then removed it and added it back in during the final cooking stages). I also sauteed a tablespoon each of minced garlic and ginger in the center of the pan immediately before adding the sauce mixture to the vegetables. Rather than add cayenne I put a spoonful of Hunan red chile sauce in the sauce mixture. Finally, I stirred in some chopped green onions and sesame oil and squeezed on some lime juice immediately before serving. Oh, and (as others have suggested) crunchy all-natural peanut butter adds great texture to this dish. The final product had plenty of spicy-tangy-garlicky-peanutty sauce to coat all the tofu and vegetables and flavor the rice. The vegetables were nicely crisp-tender when I stir-fried them on high heat for the recommended time. Pretty quick and simple -- I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This is very good, but slightly bland. I started frying the veggies first (I used the bagged, chopped broccoli from Costco, carrots, and zucchini) and cooked the tofu in another pan with some ginger and garlic powder. In the future, I will add a handful of fresh garlic. I use natural peanut butter, no salt or sugar added, so I needed a little more soy sauce (I used Bragg's Liquid Aminos), but the sweetness was just right. Thanks for the recipe, Anne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
My husband just asked for this recipe for his birthday dinner. I followed the other reviewers' advice to cut out molasses and the peanut butter in half. Instead of peppers and mushrooms, I use broccoli, carrots, and onions, and I use chicken broth instead of hot water. We also like to put in peanuts to add crunch and hot pepper flakes for added spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I love this! Quick, easy, and delicious. I did follow the tip of grilling my tofu first -- I think next time I will try to press it first. Also -- it will seem like the sauce is too thin but it did thicken up nicely after I poured it over the tofu & veggies and heated it. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THATISSO8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe! However, my family isn't wild about the "texture" of tofu, and there was a lot of it in the recipe. If you're the same way, add more vegetables and cut back on tofu, but it's an excellent vegan recipe that I'll use over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I just loved this recipe. I used lemon juice instead of vinegar in the sauce, and fried the 'steak' variety of tofu on both sides without any flour coating before I added it to the veggies. This is super-yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States