Tofu and Veggies in Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I really enjoyed this a lot. I plan to make it again! My husband thought it was just okay. We both like tofu and vegetarian meals on a regular basis. I tried to follow the recipe as closely as possible...I did use portobello mushrooms and natural crunchy peanut butter. I like my tofu browned and so I sauteed it by itself in the peanut oil for about 5 minutes and then added the veggies for about 4 minutes. Once I added the PB mixture, it only took 1 minute to finish. I served it with mango on the side. We tried sprinkling it with rice crispies, ritz crackers, and no topping...I like it each way. Thanks for this recipe! ********************************** If you have PICKY KIDS like mine (4 yrs and 16 mos), I'm happy to report that I scooped out some tofu from the finished dish and rolled it in rice crispy cereal and that's what I served to them. They refused to touch it at first, until I required my son to eat 2 bites before he could have something else. I suggested he pretend he really liked it...to my surprise he was a great actor. He ate his two bites with great "enthusiasm" and then my 16 month old girl proceeded to try hers and said "nummy" and ate 6 tofu/rc cubes. I was so proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This is my favorite new recipe! Also really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I just made this and it was very easy and so good! I cooked the tofu in garlic and powdered ginger (that is all I had) and that really added to the flavor. I also added tablespoon of duck sauce to the peanut butter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I loved it! great munchies. Used honey instead of molasses, added some green onions and baby korn. Used sesame oil- yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanna R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Yummy and quick, perfect for a week night! The sauce seemed to lack a little zing so I used more soy sauce and vinegar. Prior pan-frying the tofu is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was FANTASTIC! I didn't have molasses so I added brown sugar and also some oyster sauce...just cos I like it. I also added chili flakes and topped off with some sprinkled toasted sesame seed. YUMMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I followed the advice of the previous reviewer because that was mostly what I had on hand. I used natural cashew butter instead of peanut butter because that's all I had. It made for a very mild tasting sauce. Because I didn't have rice vinegar, I used 2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar and 2 Tbsp Mirin. I then added 4 Tbsp soy sauce, about 1 Tbsp lemon juice, pepper, cayenne pepper, some olive oil and a half a cup of water. I sauteed garlic and ground ginger and then added a bag of pre-chopped stir-fry veggies (broccoli, carrots, snow peas, and bok choy) and sauteed those. I then added pre-marinated seitan. When the veggies and seitan were tender, I poured the sauce over and heated. I cooked some brown rice and served the sauce and veggies over the rice. I'm a vegan, but my meat-eating husband really enjoyed this recipe, too. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reeders, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Dangerously addictive. I kept eating even though I was full because it was that yummy! Here are my modifications (thanks reviewers!): pan fried tofu with minced garlic and ground ginger before adding red pepper, snap peas, water chestnut and broccoli. For the sauce, I used 2 heap table spoon of natural peanut butter, 2 tablespoon rice vinegar, 2 tablespoon soy sauce, dash of salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, lemon juice, sesame oil, and 1/2 cup water. As soon as I poured the sauce over the veggies, I turned off the heat. Served over brown/wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Great! Frying the tofu separately in some soy sauce, garlic, and ginger is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
My husband and I LOVED this... and my husband is definitely not a tofu person. I added a some onions to the recipe and used half natural peanut butter/ half skippy- and it tasted great!(we also sprinkled some peanuts on top for a little crunch)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States