Tofu and Veggies in Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
My family hates tofu = But they thought this was great ! - I called it a 'Thai' dish and they bought it....I would cut back a tad on the PB however. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Not bad. A little bland for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Really great. Took other's advise and fried tofu in garlic and ginger first so it got brown and crispy. Great dish for vegitarians and meat loves alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Hate to give this a poor rating because I had high hopes. Unfortunately, the sauce turned out too thick and too peanut-buttery. I took a few bites and stopped. My husband, who doesn't let leftovers go to waste, ate the whole thing over the course of 3 days, bless his heart. If I try it again, I'll use less PB (and I used natural PB), more water and more molasses/honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Not a fan. I fried the tofu before, and the sauce didn't meld with the veggie choices. The sauce alone (with my modifications) was awesome though; it was too sweet and bland as written. Needless to say, won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Man I hate giving bad reviews but my family and I REALLY did not care for this one. I love peanut sauces, but this one is just not very good. I agree with the reviewer who said this tasted like tofu swimming in peanut butter. As written, this just didn't do it for me. Perhaps if the PB was reduced by AT LEAST half?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSteelers1Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is a great recipe! Very flexible and quick - ready in 20 minutes max. It can be made gluten-free or can be changed up depending on what you have available. It makes a delicious sauce over the stir fry, and can be served over rice. I used broccoli slaw, sliced mushrooms, omitted soy sauce (gluten), and peppers (because I don't like them). My husband added soy sauce to his - and he said it was a "5/5"...quite a complement for someone who doesn't really care for tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Photo by bltprflegs
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This has become a weekly staple in my house! I never have molasses on hand though, so I just substitute honey and it tastes great! Oh it's sooo good it's become one of my favorite dishes! I do a little more prep work to the tofu first though since I'm a vegetarian and hubby isn't - so the 'meatier' the texture the better for him. I get extra firm tofu on grocery day and freeze it first. Then defrost, wrap in paper towels and press between two plates with a heavy weight on top. Then slice and 'dry fry' the tofu first - nonstick pan on medium heat, no oil, pressing all the water out with a spatula as it cooks. Then I just toss in the tofu slices after the veggies are cooked! It IS a bit more time-consuming but if you're new to tofu or just prefer that dense, chewy texture it's worth it! I prepare ALL of my tofu dishes this way now and hubby no longer complains! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Awesome!!!! And easy. My 11 year old daughter who hates tofo, now loves it due to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tooncecat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
needs 2 tablespoons of brown sugar in the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States