Tofu and Veggies in Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
No a big fan. The consistancy of the sauce was off and had to "doctor" it up too much (added garlic, ginger, et al).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
My family loved this. I thought it was OK. It was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This was excellent. I am a newb to tofu so I mistakenly used medium-firm- since there was no firm at my store. It turned out alright but I will remember not to do it again. I love peanut butter and this had just the right amount. I will be making this again for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttons0neal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I used almond butter thinking I would enjoy this recipe change. I felt the sauce was too thick and over powering. I would try to fry the tofu first, before other veggies, and substitute molasses with honey or brown sugar, as other reviewers suggested. I might try this recipe one more time with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This has become a staple in our house. Like others, we like the tofu better if pan-fried first -- we let it fry while chopping up the veggies. The recipe is very flexible for any veggies you want -- my preference is broccoli, onion, bamboo shoots and mushrooms. I also add some spicy chili paste to the sauce, which adds a bit more texture than just cayenne. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Very tasty stir fry with a sauce/flavoring that is unlike most Asian dishes I have eaten. I made two modifications in the I omitted the vinegar and added a good douse of Sriracha sauce to the peanut butter sauce. It has a very interesting sweet, yet spicy taste to it that I and my husband liked. Next time, we will probably cut the tofu into small pieces so that there are more tough/browned edges and less soft/squishy insides. Overall, a very good recipe asides from the vinegar, but probably one that caters to a particular taste in food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I'm the only one who liked this..l perhaps less peanut butter??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Made as written (with the exception of adding extra veggies & crisp frying the tofu) and wasn't entirely impressed. My sauce was runny and not very flavorful. I think the brand of peanut butter you use changes how much water you need.I use natural (with the oil drained off). I had to add double the peanut butter , vinegar, & soy. I highly suggest only using 2 Tbls H20 to start & thinning as needed. But with a thicker sauce, some cilantro, and chili sauce it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
My husband and I were not a fan! Even though we love tofu, this sauce was too thick and overpowering. Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I have loved this website for years and have never written a review until now. This recipe was just that good. I highly recommend doing what other reviewers said and frying up the tofu separately, it will just fall apart if you cook it with the veggies. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly as far as measurements, but I did use honey instead of molasses, red pepper flakes instead of cayenne and I added an extra tblspn of Sesame Oil with the Peanut Oil because I love the flavor. For the peanut butter, I HIGHLY recommend All Natural Chunky. It was still sweet enough and the peanuts in it were a nice touch. Oh and I also added green onions at the end and fresh squeezed lime gave it a nice touch as did fresh chopped garlic to the veggies, but I do that with every dish :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salata41

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States