Tofu and Veggies in Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was FANTASTIC! I didn't have molasses so I added brown sugar and also some oyster sauce...just cos I like it. I also added chili flakes and topped off with some sprinkled toasted sesame seed. YUMMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I followed the advice of the previous reviewer because that was mostly what I had on hand. I used natural cashew butter instead of peanut butter because that's all I had. It made for a very mild tasting sauce. Because I didn't have rice vinegar, I used 2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar and 2 Tbsp Mirin. I then added 4 Tbsp soy sauce, about 1 Tbsp lemon juice, pepper, cayenne pepper, some olive oil and a half a cup of water. I sauteed garlic and ground ginger and then added a bag of pre-chopped stir-fry veggies (broccoli, carrots, snow peas, and bok choy) and sauteed those. I then added pre-marinated seitan. When the veggies and seitan were tender, I poured the sauce over and heated. I cooked some brown rice and served the sauce and veggies over the rice. I'm a vegan, but my meat-eating husband really enjoyed this recipe, too. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reeders, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Dangerously addictive. I kept eating even though I was full because it was that yummy! Here are my modifications (thanks reviewers!): pan fried tofu with minced garlic and ground ginger before adding red pepper, snap peas, water chestnut and broccoli. For the sauce, I used 2 heap table spoon of natural peanut butter, 2 tablespoon rice vinegar, 2 tablespoon soy sauce, dash of salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, lemon juice, sesame oil, and 1/2 cup water. As soon as I poured the sauce over the veggies, I turned off the heat. Served over brown/wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Great! Frying the tofu separately in some soy sauce, garlic, and ginger is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
My husband and I LOVED this... and my husband is definitely not a tofu person. I added a some onions to the recipe and used half natural peanut butter/ half skippy- and it tasted great!(we also sprinkled some peanuts on top for a little crunch)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Great sauce for the stir fry! We froze, thawed, pressed, crumbled and marinated the tofu in some garlic and vegi broth before tossing the recipie together. It needed a little more spice, and I ended up adding Siracha chili sauce to my taste. We will eat this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
so quick and easy, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Love this recipe! My husband hates tofu, but actually loves it when I make it like this! He even did the 'old school down on one knee arm pump "YES!"' when I told him we were having it for dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is a good recipe, but the sauce came out a little thick and gummy for my liking. Next time, I'll keep the sauce separate and pour it over the tofu and veggies right before serving, or just heat it in the skillet for a minute. I kept the veggies separately steamed, so the sauce is way too much for just tofu. But otherwise, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I got my husband to make this for me when I was busy writing one evening--turned out awesome! A little heavy on the peanut butter, but you have to get your protein somehow, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States