Tofu and Rice Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I liked this recipe a lot, however, I did substitute the mozzarella for Parmesan, to make it a bit more flavorful with less fat. I also drizzled the top with olive oil after cooking and added a lot of fresh ground pepper. I think using a good quality tasty marinara sauce also can make a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was a nice, good dinner. Nothing too great, but very edible and a nice change to routine. I did add in chopped onion with the garlic and mix the ingredient together (includinging some of the cheese) before stuffing the peppers. The tomato slice on top was a nice touch and I will add more next time. The timing for cooking was great, the peppers still had a crispness to them. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was a good base to work off of for a stuffed pepper tofu recipe. Instead of layering the ingredients I mixed them all together in the rice before stuffing in the peppers. Also in addition to the mozzarella cheese I added parmesan, and ricotta to make it taste a little bit more like grandma's stuffed peppers. Before I placed them into the baking dish I coated the bottom of the dish with a layer of sauce. This helps cooke the peppers and keeps everything moist. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I used black beans instead of tofu (just didn't have it) and spiced it up~ delish! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ehguy11
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is excellent! I cut the tofu into pea-sized pieces. Also used some minced onion along with the garlic. I used 1 jar of good-quality prepared sauce. Then I added 1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley and some dried Italian Seasoning to give it some extra color and flavor. I skipped the tomato slices and topped it with mozzarella. Once plated, I sprinkled more chopped parsley for a dash of color. And don't use white rice.....the brown rice really gives it a nicer texture and nutty flavor. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ehguy11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: East Haddam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
My husband was NEVER a huge fan of tofu until this recipe. Simple and delicious. I stir all the ingredients together at the end rather than layer to keep everything simple. My husband now asks for this more than most other of the recipes I make! HUGE SUCCESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Awesome! I added fresh parsley, basil, and oregano and skipped the tomato slices on top. We loved these. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hippie-in-training
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
this is amazing! even my meat & potatoes fiance loves this. ever since i became a vegetarian i make this at least once a week. the things that i do a bit differently are that i use tofu "meat" crumbles and feta cheese, while omitting the tomato. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hippie-in-training

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was pretty good. I did add a few extra spices that I like to jazz it up a little. I think next time I make it I will use a veggie burger substitute instead of the tofu unless I can find a way to cook my tofu to make it less squishy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I enjoyed this recipe with modifications. I used a marinara that had spinach (Classico), Rotel tomatoes with chili (I like spicy) and besides the mozzarella cheese, I used parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traveling Vegan Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States