Tofu and Cheese Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I used a 12 oz package of pasta shells and just shredded one whole zucchini and carrot. when it came time to stuff the shells, that seemed too labor intensive for me, so I just layered the bottom of the pan with the shells and then scooped the filling over them, mixing somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Awesome recipe! I did it with chopped up spinach mixed into the cheese mixture instead of carrot and zucchini. I mised the carrot into the tomato sauce instead. Delicous and all my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Honestly, very bland. Needs more spices and I think this would be good. The texture of the tofu if you blend it really good fits right in and you'll never know its there. The tofu really needs a lot of seasoning though so don't be scared of the spices & herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was very good. I adjusted a little to use up what I had on hand and was happy with the results. I used my own pasta sauce and also substituted cottage cheese for ricotta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Really good. A little bland. The changes I made are: added Italian seasoning and used Alfredo sauce. My husband is a meat eater and I am not, and we both loved it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is by far my favorite tofu recipe. I've made it for tons of people who aren't vegetarian and who don't even like tofu and everyone always likes it. I substitute a 10 oz package of frozen (thawed) spinach for the carrot and the zucchini (but you could really just add it in additionally) and I use a jar of spaghetti sauce instead of making my own. This also freezes fantastically. If you're planning to freeze it, you don't have to saute the onion first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very yummy! used regular noodles and just had the stuffing as part of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These were delicious and like most everyone else has said you would never know there is tofu in them. But they took me closer to an hour of prep than the 10 mins it says and that was using jarred sauce. I also sauteed the veggies rather than cooking them in water and added a little garlic and basil to the tofu/cheese mixture. I would definitely make them again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
The filling is excellent, mild, perfectly textured and tasty. Be careful when adding or substituting vegetables that you drain everything very well. I recommend blending the tofu, ricotta and egg until smooth before stirring in the carrot mixture and cheeses. I used 2 jars of spinach spaghetti sauce and pepperoni crumbles and tons more cheese. Makes more than 4 servings though - maybe 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Made this into manicotti, because shells aren't sold out here. Left out the zucchini because I didn't have any as well as the egg because I don't eat them. Mixed in with my tofu/ricotta/mozzarella mixture some pepper, Italian seasoning, minced garlic, the shredded carrot and diced onion. After stuffing the manicotti, I used jarred sauce for convenience and then sprinkled some shredded mozzarella on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Woody

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States