Tofu and Cheese Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Really good. A little bland. The changes I made are: added Italian seasoning and used Alfredo sauce. My husband is a meat eater and I am not, and we both loved it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is by far my favorite tofu recipe. I've made it for tons of people who aren't vegetarian and who don't even like tofu and everyone always likes it. I substitute a 10 oz package of frozen (thawed) spinach for the carrot and the zucchini (but you could really just add it in additionally) and I use a jar of spaghetti sauce instead of making my own. This also freezes fantastically. If you're planning to freeze it, you don't have to saute the onion first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very yummy! used regular noodles and just had the stuffing as part of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These were delicious and like most everyone else has said you would never know there is tofu in them. But they took me closer to an hour of prep than the 10 mins it says and that was using jarred sauce. I also sauteed the veggies rather than cooking them in water and added a little garlic and basil to the tofu/cheese mixture. I would definitely make them again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
The filling is excellent, mild, perfectly textured and tasty. Be careful when adding or substituting vegetables that you drain everything very well. I recommend blending the tofu, ricotta and egg until smooth before stirring in the carrot mixture and cheeses. I used 2 jars of spinach spaghetti sauce and pepperoni crumbles and tons more cheese. Makes more than 4 servings though - maybe 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Made this into manicotti, because shells aren't sold out here. Left out the zucchini because I didn't have any as well as the egg because I don't eat them. Mixed in with my tofu/ricotta/mozzarella mixture some pepper, Italian seasoning, minced garlic, the shredded carrot and diced onion. After stuffing the manicotti, I used jarred sauce for convenience and then sprinkled some shredded mozzarella on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Will be adding this to my menu for "Meatless Mondays." I didn't have to cook the carrot or zucchini at all, they we very moist when I finley shredded them. I used a jar Vodka Sauce and it turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was a very easy recipe to make. I even added mushrooms because I had them in my frig. My daughter refuses to eat carrots but she asked for more. My husband won't even look at tofu and he ate 6 shells. I will definitely keep this recipe and make it again,and again, and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I really enjoyed this dinner. My husband and I each ate 5 shells each and were full, and that was only half a serving. I doubled the veggies, and I used jarred sauce instead of making my own to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is a great meatless meal. I didn't shred my carrots or zucchini i chopped them finely and sauteed them in some canola oil instead of adding the water. I did squeeze my tofu to get some of the excess liquid out. I didn't make the sauce ( busy weeknight) so this review is just for the filling. Great I would make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States