Tofu and Cheese Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
Totally loved this recipe. Made it just as described. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
The tofu really lightens this dish compared to recipes which use cheese only. Mine turned out a little bland but a little salt or parmesan will bring out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
The hubby signed off on this and never knew what was in it :). Stuffed mini shells for my toddler and hoping she eats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Twas a little bland AND WAY too little filling.IF I make it again, the cheese mixture will get some extra herbs/spices added to it. I added 8 2" cremini mushrooms that I shredded along with the 2 carrots and whole zucchini, extra mozzarella cheese and extra monterey jack. Used the called for amount of ricotta and tofu. Instead of water, cooked the veggies in 1 tablespoon butter. Since I didn't want to "waste" the vegetable juices, I squeezed the veggies, draining into a container and used it in the sauce. Good thing I added that amount of liquid, about 1/2 cup, because the sauce didn't really pour. Should have added some water or maybe wine to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrucker361
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Maybe I'm just slow, but the prep time took me longer than 10 minutes, lol. I followed the directions exactly and it tasted great. You really can't taste the tofu either. Next time I plan on making twice the tomato sauce. My husband thought the sauce ratio was good, but my daughter and I like our pastas really saucy. I might add some olives next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
these shells are delicious. for the tofu ricotta mixture i used half cup each zucchini and carrot sauted with garlic, and also sauted spinach. topped with good 5 cheese jar sauce.. rave reviews from veggie boyfriend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This recipe was pretty good; I doubled the ingredients to make two meals, so now I have another dinner all set to go in the freezer, so that's convenient. I put extra tofu in, so I wasn't fooling anyone as far as taste goes, but we all enjoy tofu so it wasn't an issue. The one thing I would modify is to add more seasonings to the filling. We found it kind of bland. I would try it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was great! I didn't have ricotta so doubled the tofu. I put fresh mushrooms and spinach in the food processor and used more zucchini, onion and carrots than called for. I also added garlic. We couldn't get enough! Healthy comfort food. I will make it definitely again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I changed this significantly. Had hoped I didn't have to rate it. Thank you for the base recipe. I used soft tofu, sub'd Xantham Gum for the egg (child allergic to egg whites), added only 1/2 cup of pre-shredded italian cheeses, no ricotta, made some homemade marinara and added part of the sauteed onion, green pepper, mushroom & garlic mixture to the tofu after mashing it instead of the carrot/zucchini/onion mixture recommeded. I will add an extra tsp or 2 of salt to the tofu mix next time to make up for the lack of salty cheese I omitted. The two 5 year olds and two 2 year olds as well as all the parents ate on this single recipe. It was plenty although we had leftover shells w/ not enough tofu mix to put in them so the kids got some pasta w/ sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Spalding

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I made this last night and my family loved it. I made the stuffing just like the recipe, I used a jar of sauce to save time, and I sprinkled a Panko bread crumb mixture on top with cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States