Tofu and Cheese Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I thought this was OK, maybe a little dry. My 10 yr old loves it though. No one knew about the tofu either. I used extra firm tofu and pressed it dry, then mashed it up with the cheese. I then added in garlic, oregano, basil. I shredded the carrots and zucchini and boiled them for a couple of minutes before adding in. I didn't use the whole box of shells, but it gave me a full 9x13 pan worth. I topped it with a roasted garlic and onion jarred pasta sauce, for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
Excellent. I did without the ricotta & instead used 14oz. of firm tofu. As well, I substituted the cheese with mozzarella soy cheese. Came out fabulously. Even the "dairy people" didn't notice anything weird. Loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I didn't have ricotta, so I left it out, and the recipe was still wonderful. Very easy to make, tastes great, and extremely nutitious. A real winner that I'll make again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrannyGamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
I found this recipe in my vegetarian cookbook and loved it! Simple, easy & delicioius. I modified it by using mostly Veggie Shredds instead of real cheese & used fat-free ricotta. I also used Five Brothers Fresh Tomato & Basil sauce instead of making the sauce with the recipe because we like lots of sauce (and it was faster!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
These stuffed shells were great. I used fat free ricotta cheese and substituted the zucchini for broccoli and spinach. Then, I put the carrots and broccoli in a food processor and chopped the spinach before cooking them. My boyfriend and I both agreed that the spinach was a great addition to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
The filling is excellent, mild, perfectly textured and tasty. Be careful when adding or substituting vegetables that you drain everything very well. I recommend blending the tofu, ricotta and egg until smooth before stirring in the carrot mixture and cheeses. I used 2 jars of spinach spaghetti sauce and pepperoni crumbles and tons more cheese. Makes more than 4 servings though - maybe 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
This turned out pretty good. I used fresh spinach and carrots for the veggies. I also replaced the onion with some chopped garlic. Next time I will use less garlic and more veggies. Also, I really like my shells stuffed full. This recipe was a little short. My 2 year old loved it. It was reasonably easy to make. Play with the seasonings and veggies to give the recipe more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
i was feeling lazy so i used prego garlic lovers sauce, AND my boyfriend is super picky about what veggies he likes so i used carrots and broccoli instead of the zucchini. it came out great. he's one of those "ew tofu" people and he wouldn't have even know it was tofu if i hadn't told him. we both loved it and will totally make it again. this time i'll make the broccoli a little finer, but other than that i wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Will be adding this to my menu for "Meatless Mondays." I didn't have to cook the carrot or zucchini at all, they we very moist when I finley shredded them. I used a jar Vodka Sauce and it turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I really enjoyed this dinner. My husband and I each ate 5 shells each and were full, and that was only half a serving. I doubled the veggies, and I used jarred sauce instead of making my own to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States