Tofu and Cheese Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I thought this was OK, maybe a little dry. My 10 yr old loves it though. No one knew about the tofu either. I used extra firm tofu and pressed it dry, then mashed it up with the cheese. I then added in garlic, oregano, basil. I shredded the carrots and zucchini and boiled them for a couple of minutes before adding in. I didn't use the whole box of shells, but it gave me a full 9x13 pan worth. I topped it with a roasted garlic and onion jarred pasta sauce, for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I thought this was a pretty bland finale after all that work. I didn't take any 'short cuts', and there wasn't as much flavor as I was hoping. Also, I would double the filling -- unless you use a teeny bit you'll never fill all the shells. My 'warm through' took 40 minutes, and by then I was tired of waiting, but it still wasn't satisfyingly hot...overall, kind of a bummer. The three stars are three hopeful stars that I can zest it up a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I rushed to get this done and I didn't get the noodles cooked al dente....so if you're doing this...TAKE YOUR TIME!!! But it's SOOOOO GOOD!! Thanks so much for this! 5 Stars in my book!! Crystal T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I loved the fact that the tofu blends in so well with the cheese. The final product was rich but not heavy, which was a very nice change from traditional stuffed shells. I'm a lazy cook, so I used a store bought-spaghetti sauce instead of making my own and it worked just fine! In addition, the next time I make it I will skip the carrots and saute rather than boil the vegetables. The carrot did not work for me at all; I'd rather go more traditional and use spinach instead. I don't like to boil broccoli because I think that enhances its natural bitterness and nobody in my house likes that smell! My family really enjoyed it, and it made so much I gave some to a single co-worker; she loved it! Thanks for a tasty way to incorporate tofu into my meal repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Gratiot, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Loved this one! Absolute fav.. Delicious! I skipped the carrots and added mushrooms instead. Sauted the veggies in olive oil and a bit of butter. Used additional mozzerella instead of monterey cheese. Followed the advice of others and added oregno, basil, garlic powder to the tofu mixture. Used prepared Whole Foods pasta sauce. Have served this to many people...vegetarians and meat eaters and all have enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
wonderful!! Used pre made sauce and low fat cottage cheese instead of ricotta, it was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This was a hit last night with the whole family. I used our favorite spaghetti sauce instead of making it as directed. I forgot to cook the shredded carrots and zuc so they went in raw. I shredded them on the fine setting so it didn't seem to be a big deal. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Good, not the best I've ever had. The cheese mixture filled 28 shells. I would make sure to really finely chop/grate the veggies next time: I used some pre-grated carrot that threw off the texture. I also used store-bought sauce in response to previous complaints. I added some chopped fresh parsley to the cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Great Recipe and easy to make. I've made it three times and one time I didn't have much time so I left out the vegetables and it was still great and very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
My newly vegetarian husband absolutely loved these stuffed shells! The sauce is a bit lacking, but I just threw in a few ingredients that normally go into my marinara sauce- a splash of red wine, crushed red pepper flakes and a touch of honey- to add more flavor. I also did all the veggies in the food processor, then added the rest of the ingredients and blended the filling until smooth. Since the veggies were ground, there was no need to cook them first, which saved time. I will definitely be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmd77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States