Tofu and Cheese Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I thought this was a great recipie! I made it for my (meat eating) family and they didn't even know they had tofu in them. I used 1/2 cottage cheese and 1/2 ricotta instead of all ricotta though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDRAGERT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
These were very good and I couldn't tell they had tofu in them at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I really liked the idea of this recipe, but as someone who likes tofu on its own, I didn't see the need for it in the shells. I found the stuffing mix too dry with the tofu. Flavors were good however, so I might recommend this for someone trying to "sneak" tofu in a meal for some protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Good filling. I turned this into a lasagana and used jar sauce. All the meat eaters loved it as much as me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I thought this was OK, maybe a little dry. My 10 yr old loves it though. No one knew about the tofu either. I used extra firm tofu and pressed it dry, then mashed it up with the cheese. I then added in garlic, oregano, basil. I shredded the carrots and zucchini and boiled them for a couple of minutes before adding in. I didn't use the whole box of shells, but it gave me a full 9x13 pan worth. I topped it with a roasted garlic and onion jarred pasta sauce, for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I thought this was a pretty bland finale after all that work. I didn't take any 'short cuts', and there wasn't as much flavor as I was hoping. Also, I would double the filling -- unless you use a teeny bit you'll never fill all the shells. My 'warm through' took 40 minutes, and by then I was tired of waiting, but it still wasn't satisfyingly hot...overall, kind of a bummer. The three stars are three hopeful stars that I can zest it up a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I rushed to get this done and I didn't get the noodles cooked al dente....so if you're doing this...TAKE YOUR TIME!!! But it's SOOOOO GOOD!! Thanks so much for this! 5 Stars in my book!! Crystal T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I loved the fact that the tofu blends in so well with the cheese. The final product was rich but not heavy, which was a very nice change from traditional stuffed shells. I'm a lazy cook, so I used a store bought-spaghetti sauce instead of making my own and it worked just fine! In addition, the next time I make it I will skip the carrots and saute rather than boil the vegetables. The carrot did not work for me at all; I'd rather go more traditional and use spinach instead. I don't like to boil broccoli because I think that enhances its natural bitterness and nobody in my house likes that smell! My family really enjoyed it, and it made so much I gave some to a single co-worker; she loved it! Thanks for a tasty way to incorporate tofu into my meal repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Gratiot, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Loved this one! Absolute fav.. Delicious! I skipped the carrots and added mushrooms instead. Sauted the veggies in olive oil and a bit of butter. Used additional mozzerella instead of monterey cheese. Followed the advice of others and added oregno, basil, garlic powder to the tofu mixture. Used prepared Whole Foods pasta sauce. Have served this to many people...vegetarians and meat eaters and all have enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
wonderful!! Used pre made sauce and low fat cottage cheese instead of ricotta, it was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States