Tofu Vindaloo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This was my first time making this recipe. I followed it to a T, however to me it was a bit bland. The ginger taste/smell is VERY strong. I love Indian food and was a bit disappointed at how this recipe turned out. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanelleC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Easy and flavorful! Even my non-vegetarian family members love this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
quite tasty! i made a couple of changes; i added garlic, salt and a serrano pepper. i also didn't have vindaloo powder, so i used regular curry powder. i also salted the veggies a little while they were cooking to help them reduce a little. i have never cooked with tofu before, though i am a huge fan. just be careful to FOLD (as the recipe says) and not stir, otherwise you will break up the chunks of tofu. anyway, this one is going in the recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This is wonderful and simple! I more than doubled the vindaloo (because we are crazy in my house) and I substituted something green (brocolli, fresh beans) in place of the carrots. I've made this several times and it is wonderful. Also try using fresh roma tomato instead of paste - way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This was really great! Tasted like something you would pay for at some fancy restaurant. Would definitely suggest throwing in a few more spices to pump it up a bit - like turmeric, garam masala and cumin. Needs lots of salt. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Only changes I made were to substitute japanese eggplant for cauliflower and to use a dollop of commercial curry paste (I used a madras paste) instead of curry powder. Im convinced that anything made with coconut milk tastes amazing. Even my toddler ate this up. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Very good glad I didnt use the hot curry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Have never used tofu or tasted this kind of dish. Absolutely wonderful!!! Thank you so much for therecipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Had to beef up the taste with my own flavors but good overall. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States