Tofu Turkey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
My family LOVES this recipe (all vegetarians/vegans) I do change quite a bit: Make tofu part as directed ( I now use the vaccuum packed super-firm tofu and you don't need to drain it. "Stuffing" is Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing from this site (I use tofurkey brand apple sage sausage and veggie broth). Place stuffing on a 9x13" pan molded into a half sphere. Cover this with the tofurkey mixture. I use the maple glaze from the allrecipe called "Maple Roast Turkey" by Lipo. The glaze is WONDERFUL!!! I have made this the last 3 to 4 years at the holidays and have had to make a bigger batch as even the meat eaters are gobbling it down. Best vegan gravy is Ann Gentry's Golden Gravy from her Real Food Daily cookbook. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Penryn, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
It was dry, no flavor and I had to use my ingenuity and redo this entire recipe. I started by marinating the tofu overnight and adding many spices, added fresh parlsey to everything,(rubbed sage, powedered sage, garlic & onion powder, oregano, chives, marjoram, savory, salt and pepper and made a moist stuffing in accordance with the quantities you are asked to use in the recipe label and increased the margarine and liquid content by more than double in accordance; adding onions, celery and mushroom to stuffing and spices also. Made a Vegan Gravy adding fresh parsley and all of the above spices and was added to stuffing and used as a sauce over the tofurkey. It was a hit for 54 employees - some who have never tasted Tofu before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
WOW! This recipe is wonderful for vegan and vegetarians at holiday time--especially Thanksgiving. It looked and tasted great--my seriously VEGAN son was thrilled and impressed! By doubling the tofu mixture, we were able to serve more; we just added a little extra oven time. We used our usual stuffing recipe, but made with soy margarine as suggested and it seemed more traditional for us (we add finely diced celery, onions, mushrooms, apples and red peppers in iron skillet). This seems fussy and complicated, but it is really simple. This is much better than any store-bought version and is much cheaper, too! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is a really easy and great recipe. I read some of the reviews before making this for my son who is vegan. BEWARE to those who are planning on using boxed stuffing mixes as recommended by some reviews. Lots of them have added dried chicken or turkey for flavoring and most of them contain gelatin. Check box ingredients first if staying vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This was surprisingly good! I was reading the reviews before I printed the recipe out and they got my hopes up. But when I started making it I was like woah, this doesn't look anything like I pictured and I was just sure that the paper towel thing wasn't going to work. But I kept going, if it didn't turn out oh well. So when it was time to take it out of the fridge the paper towels came off just fine! I was like wahoo, but will it taste ok because i was kinda having trouble with the stuffing. I took ya'lls advice and changed the glaze, I used a cranberry glaze, the "turkey" turned out awesome, my mom and I were so pleased. I highly recommend that u try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
This was a really great recipe. Very delicious and flavourful. My first Thanksgiving since going vegetarian and I didn't even miss the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I've made this recipe for my boyfriend last Christmas, as well as his family - 3 out of which are vegetarian. The recipe turned out great and they all enjoyed it. As a meat-eater myself, I was slightly hesitant but it was pretty good. Definitely a recipe I would recommend if you want to make that extra effort for your vegetarian friends and/or family. Two suggestions: 1) Use extra firm tofu - a little harder to work with, but doesn't crack as much; and, 2) I simply use turkey Stove-Top stuffing, eliminating Step #2 (just prepare as it says on the box) - easier and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I would give this ten stars if I could! It was surprisingly easy and really delicious. A must-try for all vegetarians and adventurous non-veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This is becoming one of my favorite recipes and I've made it for two Thanksgivings in a row. It really is rather easy to make and non-vegetarians like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
The amount of water didn't seem to be enough for the dry stuffing. Next time I'll use boxed stuffing mix instead. The glaze and the tofu crust turned out really really yummy though. I even used the same glaze for chicken marinate. Will definitely make it again for my veggie friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States