Tofu Turkey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
This was a really great recipe. Very delicious and flavourful. My first Thanksgiving since going vegetarian and I didn't even miss the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This is becoming one of my favorite recipes and I've made it for two Thanksgivings in a row. It really is rather easy to make and non-vegetarians like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
WOW! This recipe is wonderful for vegan and vegetarians at holiday time--especially Thanksgiving. It looked and tasted great--my seriously VEGAN son was thrilled and impressed! By doubling the tofu mixture, we were able to serve more; we just added a little extra oven time. We used our usual stuffing recipe, but made with soy margarine as suggested and it seemed more traditional for us (we add finely diced celery, onions, mushrooms, apples and red peppers in iron skillet). This seems fussy and complicated, but it is really simple. This is much better than any store-bought version and is much cheaper, too! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This definitely passed the non-vegetarian test. Family loved it and it proved an alternative for vegetarian friends and family members. It was very easy to prepare. Instead of using the paper towels per the recipe i used cheesecloth. Adjusted the glaze just a bit as we do not eat mustard or barbeque sauce. There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
mmmmmm.. such a good recipe! My sister was bemoaning the fact that the store-bought Tofu-Turkey doesn't have a good taste.. and was very happy to taste that mine was so delicious! Though I got some funny looks because it looks like a brain from the outside.. once my non-vegan family tasted a bit of it, they were immediately surprised at the amazing taste. My mother even said that it tasted like real turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I would give this ten stars if I could! It was surprisingly easy and really delicious. A must-try for all vegetarians and adventurous non-veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Very innovative. I used cornbread stuffing. Next time I'll use another glaze from the Tofu Turkey recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This was surprisingly good! I was reading the reviews before I printed the recipe out and they got my hopes up. But when I started making it I was like woah, this doesn't look anything like I pictured and I was just sure that the paper towel thing wasn't going to work. But I kept going, if it didn't turn out oh well. So when it was time to take it out of the fridge the paper towels came off just fine! I was like wahoo, but will it taste ok because i was kinda having trouble with the stuffing. I took ya'lls advice and changed the glaze, I used a cranberry glaze, the "turkey" turned out awesome, my mom and I were so pleased. I highly recommend that u try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
It was dry, no flavor and I had to use my ingenuity and redo this entire recipe. I started by marinating the tofu overnight and adding many spices, added fresh parlsey to everything,(rubbed sage, powedered sage, garlic & onion powder, oregano, chives, marjoram, savory, salt and pepper and made a moist stuffing in accordance with the quantities you are asked to use in the recipe label and increased the margarine and liquid content by more than double in accordance; adding onions, celery and mushroom to stuffing and spices also. Made a Vegan Gravy adding fresh parsley and all of the above spices and was added to stuffing and used as a sauce over the tofurkey. It was a hit for 54 employees - some who have never tasted Tofu before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I was so disappointed :-( I followed the directions for the turkey part and used my own stuffing recipe. I did add poultry seasoning, sage, garlic powder, salt, and pepper before forming the tofu and it tasted ok. The problem came when I inverted it onto the baking sheet after it sat and drained for the 2 hrs. It absolutly did not hold its shape and spread out, kind of became a tofu pancake. I went ahead and baked it per the recipe. Finally when it was finished in the oven it had the texture and consinsity of a wet sponge and honestly tasted way too bland. It never left the kitchen. I may try again and let the tofu drain more, might give it another whirl for Christmas or I may just order a comercial one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States