Tofu Turkey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
My family got a kick out of this! I may have to make a bigger one next Thanksgiving. I made a different stuffing, because the one in this recipe was very close to my mom's recipe, and I wanted everyone to try the tofu...the method worked perfectly, and the glaze was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I'd love to give a better review since others have loved it, but the only good thing about it was my mum's homemade stuffing inside of it. I'm a vegetarian and usually love tofu but next turkey dinner I'll just stick to stuffing, yams, mashed potatoes, and pumpkin pie. Ps. It was perfectly shaped and looked great ...to bad the taste was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Looking for Perfection

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
My family LOVES this recipe (all vegetarians/vegans) I do change quite a bit: Make tofu part as directed ( I now use the vaccuum packed super-firm tofu and you don't need to drain it. "Stuffing" is Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing from this site (I use tofurkey brand apple sage sausage and veggie broth). Place stuffing on a 9x13" pan molded into a half sphere. Cover this with the tofurkey mixture. I use the maple glaze from the allrecipe called "Maple Roast Turkey" by Lipo. The glaze is WONDERFUL!!! I have made this the last 3 to 4 years at the holidays and have had to make a bigger batch as even the meat eaters are gobbling it down. Best vegan gravy is Ann Gentry's Golden Gravy from her Real Food Daily cookbook. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Penryn, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I don't know if I did something wrong but mine just came out mushy and didnt taste very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGEPUNKSTR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shadow Hills, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
i wish i could give this a higher rating. i was thankful for other reviewers, since it at least gave me a good place to start. i added poultry seasoning as well as thyme, sea salt, and pepper to the tofu; i actually made this twice, on thanksgiving and a few days later. both times i had to use firm tofu, and i'm not sure xtra firm would have made a difference. the mold worked very well, but i'd recommend leaving it to chill for as long as you can; two hours was just enough the first time and not quite enough the second time. the first time i used my cranberry sauce as glaze and the second time i used the bar-b-q sauce mix; the cranberry tasted better but the bar-b-q sauce looked better. i made my own stuffing as well, so that wasn't an issue. both times there were not leftovers, but i attribute that more to the flavor lended by the stuffing. the tofu itself was mushy and not very tasty (like i said, i spiced it up as much as i could, but was afraid to go too far and wreck the blending of flavors) and didn't look very appealing on the plate. the concept here is good, but falls flat in actuality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Pretty good! The tofu was bland, but I loved the technique. It looked beautiful at the table and it was a lot of fun pretending we were carving a bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I was relly looking forward to this, red all teh reviews and followed advice. I even boiled my tofu in veggie soup and then blendarized before moulding it into shape. It did not taste very good (and I love tofu!) and I was a bit embarssed to have made for thanksgiving dinner. Would not make it again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Didn't have a lot of the ingredients, so messed around with this recipe a bit. Interestingly, using regular tofu rather than extra firm didn't cause any 'brain-like' cracking and was incredibly moist. Had to change the paper towels every half hour though. My glaze ended up being grapefruit juice, soysauce and ketchup, which smelled weird, but made it exactly the color of real turkey skin. Heed all the warnings about burning fast on broil!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starvinstudent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I served this to some vegetarian friends at Thanksgiving and they loved it! It's a little involved, but very well worth the trouble and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kihei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Extremely good recipe. It may sound confusing but it's simple. I've been using this recipe for 3 years now for both Thanksgiving and Christmas to take to my family. I even have some die hard meat eaters who like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States