Tofu Turkey I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
Delicious! My family loved it, even the non-vegetarians. My husband keeps asking when we are going to have the Tofu Turkey again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Very tasty. Time consuming, though, so make a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This recipe is AWESOME!Very easy, especially after the first time. The meat eaters at thanksgiving ALWAYS eat all our tofu turkey! I make two now. My children who are vegans love it too. And when it comes just out of the oven look out! :-) I have been making it now for three years and am always asked by the meat eaters if I'm bringing the tofu turkey. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2000
This recipe is INCREDIBLY good, although a bit time consuming, although it is incredibly worthwhile! Thanks, allrecipe.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving and although it was a lot of work, it tasted soooo good! I definitely recommend starting early crumbling the tofu AND pulsing it in the food processor, until really smooth, then draining it. Works much, much better! My whole family tried it and couldn't believe how good it was. Yes! This is a thanksgiving staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOPPNBROCCOLI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I couldn't believe I was eating tofu! Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
This dish is terrific. This is the 3rd (or 4th) year that I have made this dish for my family. There are a few things that I have learned that have helped me out. 1) For time I use a prepared stuffing. Since this is usually salty, I try to minimize excess salt in other places. 2)I use a pizza pan, it looks like a big mound, but since I am usually cooking for 8-10 the shape doesn not matter. You have to take it easy on the marinade, one time it was a little to salty, taste first. My family loves this dish. My Grandmother MADE me bring her a piece and she had two "real" turkeys at her house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKB20

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I was really pleased with how this came out. I got a few eye-rolls when I told people that I was making a tofu turkey, but they were impressed with the taste. Winning people over to veggies one dish at a time! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This is very good. The first time I made it the bottom cooked too much and couldn't be eaten. I lowered the temperature to 350 the first hour and 375 the second. I think 375 for both hours would be fine. It has very good flavor. It makes extra dressing which I circle around the "bird" and it makes a good presentation. Be sure to cover the "bird" with foil for the second hour too. It has great taste and isn't hard to put together. Add a little cranberry sauce and veges and you're set. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Can Can
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I was very impressed with the way this turned out. I served it for Thanksgiving to 9 meat eaters and EVERYONE said it tasted like turkey! I couldn't believe it. I have been vegetarian for 10 years, so tasting like turkey wasn't really the goal. I did make some changes: after reading the suggestions in this section, I first boiled the tofu in some vegetarian chicken flavored stock, then processed it in a blender, then pressed it with the weight overnight. I also substituted Bragg's Liquid Aminnos for Tamari and regular boxed stuffing mix for the stuffing; I also left out the rosemary as I didn't have any. I cooked the tofu turkey WITH the foil for about 3 hours, reappling the glaze every 30 minutes or so. I also cooked it on parchment paper instead of greasing the pan, so it didn't burn. It was really good: it looked and tasted like turkey! I also recommend the vegetarian gravy to serve with this (or mashed potatoes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can Can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States