Tofu Turkey I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I couldn't believe I was eating tofu! Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This is very good. The first time I made it the bottom cooked too much and couldn't be eaten. I lowered the temperature to 350 the first hour and 375 the second. I think 375 for both hours would be fine. It has very good flavor. It makes extra dressing which I circle around the "bird" and it makes a good presentation. Be sure to cover the "bird" with foil for the second hour too. It has great taste and isn't hard to put together. Add a little cranberry sauce and veges and you're set. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I did not care for this recipe. The tofu did not stick together after draining overnight and the end result didn't look good at all. However, the stuffing is excellent. Follow the recipe, put the stuffing in a pan and bake. Yum!! I made the stuffing for my family and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *cherry*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2003
I believe I made this recipe correctly, because I followed the directions. I'm sorry, but it did not taste good at all. The tofu never got crispy (although I drained it overnight), and the flavors in the sauce did not go well together at all! The orange juice is the first thing to get rid of. I had to throw the whole thing away. Maybe I did it wrong, because some of the reviews raved about it, but I don't see how it can be good. I would try the other recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I was really pleased with how this came out. I got a few eye-rolls when I told people that I was making a tofu turkey, but they were impressed with the taste. Winning people over to veggies one dish at a time! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Very tasty. Time consuming, though, so make a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving and although it was a lot of work, it tasted soooo good! I definitely recommend starting early crumbling the tofu AND pulsing it in the food processor, until really smooth, then draining it. Works much, much better! My whole family tried it and couldn't believe how good it was. Yes! This is a thanksgiving staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOPPNBROCCOLI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
i write a mixed review, the dish takes a while but is easy (a tad bit expensive). I didn't use her stuffing recipe but did follow the tofu/body part. don't hollow the tofu out, create the interior cavity as the refrigerated tofu is being pressed by placing a round bottomed bowl in the tofu as a form. The tofu also needs a better marinade recipe it was pretty wimpy (and salty). I also tried to impregnate the tofu w/herbs & soaked it for a long long time and that seemed to work better. good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This recipe is AWESOME!Very easy, especially after the first time. The meat eaters at thanksgiving ALWAYS eat all our tofu turkey! I make two now. My children who are vegans love it too. And when it comes just out of the oven look out! :-) I have been making it now for three years and am always asked by the meat eaters if I'm bringing the tofu turkey. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I read the reviews of this recipe and thought, ok, this sounds good. I took the time to fix this for Thanksgiving and I don't plan on making it again. First of all, the amount of Tamari used in this recipe makes the stuffing too salty. I even reduced the amount and added water to cut it down a bit. Furthermore, the recipe calls for table salt? I had enough sense not to add any. Second, the cooking time is way too long. 2 hours at 400°F? Come on, get real. After only one hour, the sugars in the marinade (from the OJ) started to burn. Third, despite pressing the tofu with 35 lbs of weight overnight, the texture was still spongy. Finally, the tofu, naturally bland, never picked up any flavors from the stuffing and marinade. Bland AND spongy?!? My plan is to give a shot at a $12 Tofurky (the real deal) and see if it is better. It would certainly be a whole lot cheaper and easier to fix. Tofurky's giblet gravy is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States