Tofu Turkey I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2000
This recipe is INCREDIBLY good, although a bit time consuming, although it is incredibly worthwhile! Thanks, allrecipe.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
Although time consuming,most of the time is waiting for the tofu being pressed, or cooking. It was quite easy to make, and turned out much better than I expected. I left out the mushrooms (don't like them) and replaced them with previously pan fried potatoes, diced. This seemed to work out fine w/the recipe. I also was out of miso, so I substituted w/tahini, which I think worked great. The only thing I think I would do differently next time is go easy on the orange rind, or leave it out completely. I probably put too much in besides, but I could definately taste orange after all the cooking (its in the marinade.) The kids tried it, thought it was "OK", but my husband and I loved it! This dish is probably best for older kids,teens, and adults
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
Delicious! My family loved it, even the non-vegetarians. My husband keeps asking when we are going to have the Tofu Turkey again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
This dish is terrific. This is the 3rd (or 4th) year that I have made this dish for my family. There are a few things that I have learned that have helped me out. 1) For time I use a prepared stuffing. Since this is usually salty, I try to minimize excess salt in other places. 2)I use a pizza pan, it looks like a big mound, but since I am usually cooking for 8-10 the shape doesn not matter. You have to take it easy on the marinade, one time it was a little to salty, taste first. My family loves this dish. My Grandmother MADE me bring her a piece and she had two "real" turkeys at her house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKB20

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
We did not care for this recipe. But its all my fault for not testing it first. A free bit of advice: Never make an unknown, untested recipe for Thanksgiving or any other special Holiday for that matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I read the reviews of this recipe and thought, ok, this sounds good. I took the time to fix this for Thanksgiving and I don't plan on making it again. First of all, the amount of Tamari used in this recipe makes the stuffing too salty. I even reduced the amount and added water to cut it down a bit. Furthermore, the recipe calls for table salt? I had enough sense not to add any. Second, the cooking time is way too long. 2 hours at 400°F? Come on, get real. After only one hour, the sugars in the marinade (from the OJ) started to burn. Third, despite pressing the tofu with 35 lbs of weight overnight, the texture was still spongy. Finally, the tofu, naturally bland, never picked up any flavors from the stuffing and marinade. Bland AND spongy?!? My plan is to give a shot at a $12 Tofurky (the real deal) and see if it is better. It would certainly be a whole lot cheaper and easier to fix. Tofurky's giblet gravy is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This recipe is AWESOME!Very easy, especially after the first time. The meat eaters at thanksgiving ALWAYS eat all our tofu turkey! I make two now. My children who are vegans love it too. And when it comes just out of the oven look out! :-) I have been making it now for three years and am always asked by the meat eaters if I'm bringing the tofu turkey. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
i write a mixed review, the dish takes a while but is easy (a tad bit expensive). I didn't use her stuffing recipe but did follow the tofu/body part. don't hollow the tofu out, create the interior cavity as the refrigerated tofu is being pressed by placing a round bottomed bowl in the tofu as a form. The tofu also needs a better marinade recipe it was pretty wimpy (and salty). I also tried to impregnate the tofu w/herbs & soaked it for a long long time and that seemed to work better. good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving and although it was a lot of work, it tasted soooo good! I definitely recommend starting early crumbling the tofu AND pulsing it in the food processor, until really smooth, then draining it. Works much, much better! My whole family tried it and couldn't believe how good it was. Yes! This is a thanksgiving staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOPPNBROCCOLI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Very tasty. Time consuming, though, so make a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States