Tofu Turkey I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is an amazing recipe, and the presentation is beautiful. For the first time since becoming a vegetarian (approximately 4-5 years ago), it felt like we had true Thanksgiving dinner this year. The recipe is a keeper and will become the tradition in our family on Thanksgiving from now on. The search is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Fantastic. I followed the directions verbatim but pureed the tofu before pressing overnight under 20 lb. of weight. I omitted the miso (too expensive!), too. I'd cut the tamari next time - too salty! Nevertheless, everyone, including the meat eaters, loved it and we happily ate it for leftovers after Thanksgiving, too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is my 3rd year making this recipe. I am one that always takes receipes and makes them my own. I took a few things that I liked from this recipe and also the Tofu Turkey II and a few other additives. This year I thought to do something different. I am all about flavor and your really have to over season tofu so that once it cooks it takes like something. Last year, I started to add Worthington's Turkey roll to the recipe. I grinded half of it up will the tofu and it came out having more flavor....I was pleased! But this year I am going a step further. I am going still add half of the turkey roll, but I am also going to take the other half and slice it very thin and after I hollow out the middle, I am going to line the inside with the sliced turkey. I also added some liquid smoke to the recipe. After turning the turkey over I am going to take the remaining sliced turkey and cover the whole top of the "turkey" with it. Then, I am going to take the reserved tofu/turkey blended mix and cover the sliced turkey to give it that smooth feel. And then of course I will baste it the same way. My only concern is that every year I make it, the turkey kind of looses shape and conforms to the shape of the pan, so I have been trying to find the perfect sized oval pan to cook it in, but this year, I am going to cook it on low heat to see if that helps. I am also starting the turkey today (Tuesday) to give the seasonings time to soak in and also so that the tofu can get Really firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
The main thing here is- you need to have plenty of prep time. I personally have had fabulous results everytime I have made a Tofu Turkey for my daughter and myself. First off- I press the tofu overnight the night before Thanksgiving- usually for at least 12 hours so it really firms up. Then I hollow it out and add the stuffing (I use a really good natural stuffing that Whole Foods sells and add celery and other good stuff but do not ever add extra salt- there is plenty of that in the recipe as is. Once stuffed I then refrigerate it again for a few hours so it firms nicely and can be turned out into the cooking vessel. It's important to keep it covered with foil (hate using aluminum foil but what else can ya use?) and keep marinating it (I add apricot jam to the marinade and it really makes a lovely color and taste) often but COOK at low heat- I do it at 300 for about 2 hours so it won't burn. Serve with organic cranberry sauce and natural vegan gravy- mashed organic russett potatoes and organic yams...YUMMO!! I also make a vegan pumpkin pie made with silken tofu- recipe easy to find online. Happy Thanskgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnoller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
After reading all these reviews it seems that everyone loved it or hated it. I'm doing Thanksgiving for the first time (Mom is the T-Day queen and no one else is allowed to cook that day. This year I'm six hours away!) I think I'm going to get brave and make this. I wonder if it would be helpful to freeze and drain the tofu to make the crumbly but better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
My meat eater husband made this for me as a Thanksgiving Day Surprise. I thought it was an excellent vehicle for veggie gravy, and really isn't that what real turkey is for? Honestly though, I was really happy about how it turned out and ate it left overs for days-it's really good reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I really loved this, but I had to tweak it quite a bit to get it how I liked it. I do not like Celery so I used extra garlic. I don't use miso, so I used sweet and sour sauce and teriayki sauce. I did not use orange juice or zest. I used Honey dijon. I used wine and red wine vinegar. It is delicious and much better than anything I have had as a vegetarian. My Dad loves it and he is 83 years old! I steeped the tofu in sesame and soy sauce then put it in the colander. You can't cook it as long as it says, it burns. So watch it carefully. It really is the best and you should try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Not bad - very tofu-ey, though! Next time I think I'll freeze the tofu and then mince it finely... and maybe do a few layers of the stuffing and the tofu. I'll be trying it again, but I wasn't hugely impressed with the way it turned out this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Can Can
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I was very impressed with the way this turned out. I served it for Thanksgiving to 9 meat eaters and EVERYONE said it tasted like turkey! I couldn't believe it. I have been vegetarian for 10 years, so tasting like turkey wasn't really the goal. I did make some changes: after reading the suggestions in this section, I first boiled the tofu in some vegetarian chicken flavored stock, then processed it in a blender, then pressed it with the weight overnight. I also substituted Bragg's Liquid Aminnos for Tamari and regular boxed stuffing mix for the stuffing; I also left out the rosemary as I didn't have any. I cooked the tofu turkey WITH the foil for about 3 hours, reappling the glaze every 30 minutes or so. I also cooked it on parchment paper instead of greasing the pan, so it didn't burn. It was really good: it looked and tasted like turkey! I also recommend the vegetarian gravy to serve with this (or mashed potatoes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can Can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States