Tofu Tacos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Really great spice blend! We added a bit more of the spices as we had both experienced bland tofu recipes (definitely to be avoided) and didn't use all of the suggested toppings - just what was fresh at our grocery store. In order to make a more chewy filling, we added some spanish rice to each taco. Really quick and very tasty. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fast_as_I_can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Really good! I only had plain extra-firm tofu, so I mixed in one pinch of basil, one pinch of oregano, some soy sauce, a splash of balsamic vinegar, and some spicy rooster sauce to the crumbled tofu before cooking it. I made the tacos with corn tortillas and I thought they were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
I used frozen sausage flavored protein crumbles instead of tofu. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
Extremely quick and easy--took less than 15 minutes to cook everything and toast the taco shells. I used tempeh instead of tofu, cooking it the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I make this for my husband all the time. We love this delicious and fast recipe. I usually decrease the amount of chili powder by half to make it a little less spicy. I also substitute salsa for the tomato sauce to give it extra flavor and always use tortilla instead of taco shells. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
My husband loves tacos and since we have gone vegitarian he has missed them. I made this recipe and he ate it all. The tofu really takes the flavor that taco meat has. He loved it. I thouhght it was pretty good and I dont like tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Freaking awesome. I couldn't find any flavored tofu, so I just used the firm normal kind and sprinkled it with Garlic & Herb Mrs. Dash LOL. It worked though. Really good, and I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is a very good recipe. Very tasty and very easy. I made the recipe with frozen tofu. If you take extra firm tofu and freeze it in the container, take it out on the day you use it and let it thaw, it squeezes our moisture like a sponge. I usually wrap it in towells and soak out the moisture too. It made a firm, nice texture, taco filling. My picky kids even loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Awesome! Even added a few of our own ingredients- great tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
Haven't tried this on kids yet. My husband, formerly, a recent vegetarian loved this recipe!! In place of real cheese, i used soya cheese for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States