Tofu Tacos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Really good! I only had plain extra-firm tofu, so I mixed in one pinch of basil, one pinch of oregano, some soy sauce, a splash of balsamic vinegar, and some spicy rooster sauce to the crumbled tofu before cooking it. I made the tacos with corn tortillas and I thought they were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
If you freeze, thaw, and dry the tofu in a 200° oven before soaking and cooking it, it acquires a meat-like chewy texture. I used regular tofu, and I added about 2 Tbs. crushed dry oregano, 2 tsp cumin, 3 large cloves of chopped garlic plus 1 Tbs of granulated garlic, and 2 Tbs of two different kinds of chili powder. I also added some Beef flavored "Better Than Bullion" to give the tofu a beefy flavor and color. They ate it up without even realizing they were eating tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brother William

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
My husband loves tacos and since we have gone vegitarian he has missed them. I made this recipe and he ate it all. The tofu really takes the flavor that taco meat has. He loved it. I thouhght it was pretty good and I dont like tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Oh My God, these are so delicious! I fried corn tortillas for the shells and pressed the tofu for about 15 minutes between 2 plates. I followed the recipe almost exactly except I couldn't find any flavored tofu so I used plain. I decided to try to include some tofu meals into our diet and this is the first recipe I tried. These tacos are so, so, so good - will definitely be making these again. The avocado and the cheddar cheese add lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Really great spice blend! We added a bit more of the spices as we had both experienced bland tofu recipes (definitely to be avoided) and didn't use all of the suggested toppings - just what was fresh at our grocery store. In order to make a more chewy filling, we added some spanish rice to each taco. Really quick and very tasty. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fast_as_I_can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
I used frozen sausage flavored protein crumbles instead of tofu. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Everyone liked this. In addition to the basic recipe I also added rice and green peppers for texture. The flavor was good and we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Great basic recipe. The spice combo was good, but will add more cumin next time since I really like cumin. I will also add some beans and corn for a little more texture. Couldn't get much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I enjoyed this toful alternative. Will definitely make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
My boyfriend is a vegetarian, I am not. It is hard to find a meal that we can both enjoy. These tacos are great because they are so flavorful I don't even miss "real" tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States