Tofu Tacos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I've never cooked with tofu before, and I was actually surprised that it was so good, or at least it was in this recipe. The dedicated carnivores thought these tacos were the bomb. Imagine that! I froze the tofu first, as some suggested, though not for a full 72 hours and it came out fine. I sprinkled it with taco seasoning, and let it set in the frige awhile, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing this. I'll use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This recipe has fast become a standard in our household. My husband, who eats meat, regularly requests this recipe. Leftovers are great prepared on top of taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This recipe is an absolute winner. Everyone in my family loved it. My brother was hesitant to try it at first because he's a meat-eater. After taking one bite, he was surprised that tofu could taste this good. The seasoning gave it such an amazing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
These were pretty good! I once had some tofu tacos that a roommate had made in the past and they were a bit better, but these are good! I didn't have herbed tofu, so I did a quick herbing of my own. Didn't have cilantro on hand either. I added some taco seasoning on top of the others. Next time I think I'll cut down a little on the cayenne. I cooked it for longer so the tofu wouldn't be mushy and it was the perfect consistency! My DH loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I was reluctant to try this recipe for a long time because I thought there was no way it would be worth the hassle. Also my husband is not a big fan of tofu so I thought there was no way he would eat it. But he went crazy over it and gobbled it all up! There wasn't even any left for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
could only find plain tofu, so at first i added in some soy sauce, oregano, and garlic powder.... then i added about 3/4 a packet of mccormick spicy taco mix.. and then the tomato sauce and a few squirts of lemon juice...even though i didnt follow the recipe it was EXCELLENT! my whole family liked it.. even my super picky boyfriend who ended up eating 4 of them! will definetly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly except for not having herb tofu so I just added 1T of McCormick Poultry seasoning to the tofu after crumbling. Skipped on the cheese and avocado. Leftovers great in soft tacos the next day! **Oh yeah and I always freeze my tofu per the Mock Chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
These are soooooo good! I grilled the tofu with the onions and garlic and added the tomato sauce and although I'm sure the seasonings you recommended are good, I just used one of those Taco Seasoning Mix packets. Then I topped it off with cilantro and diced tomatoes instead of adding the cilantro into the tofu. I prefer to make my own shells by frying the tortillas in oil, for they taste more authentic that way. I also HIGHLY RECOMMEND freezing your tofu at least 72 hours before preparation, see "Mock Chicken" recipe submitted by Silverwolf. My family loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This recipe is FANTASTIC and HEALTHY! I love it, I cook it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
LOVE it!! Husband went vegetarian again so I had to look up a taco recipe for him as it is his favorite dinner. Used 1/2 plain firm tofu block, added 1 can black beans, and omitted the tomato sauce cause of heartburn (prego me) and acid reflux (DH).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States