Tofu Tacos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I love this recipe. I froze my tofu overnight to get a true "meat" texture. Hubby did not even know it was tofu mixed with lean turkey! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elysian27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emory, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Martinville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Fiancé lived this! I too added some basil and oregano wince I had regular tofu, I also added some slices portobello mushrooms and made guacamole, Spanish rice and some black beans on the side! We are new vegetarians and did not expect them to be as great as they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Yum!! We added a bit more cumin and cayenne. Couldn't find the garden herb tofu so substituted firm tofu instead. Even my son liked it who was not too thrilled to hear we were having tofu tacos. Thanks for a great, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I enjoyed this toful alternative. Will definitely make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
In the word's of my 7 year old, "Mommy, Can every Sunday be taco night?" followed by her sister with a "These are the best tacos ever." No one missed the beef or knew it was even missing for that matter. Delicioius and easy and I even got a thanks for dinner from both of them ; ) !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I use regular firm tofu that has been frozen and thawed. I add lots of vegetables to the tofu mix, including bell peppers, mushroom, zucchini, cauliflower, fresh tomatoes, or whatever is in my fridge. I often add half a can of diced tomatoes and about a teaspoon of cumin in addition to the regular spices. I make this at least once every 2 weeks - my boyfriend and I love it! We make it vegan by using vegan wraps and only topping it with avocado instead of cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was excellent for our first time trying tofu! My 12 year old ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Wikert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
We thought this was pretty good for what it is and I will liklely make it again. It did definitley have the the consistency of eggs but that didn't bother us. I couldn't find garden herb tofu so I used plain and added Mrs. Dash onion and herb mix with a little basil and garlic powder. It turned out too spicy for my 5 year old but hubby and I thought it was the perfect amount of spice. He even went back for seconds which was surprising since he was very skeptical about a tofu dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I gave it 5 because i used the review of someone else. I tried tofu tacos w/ firm tofu before and hated it. One review said to press it, freeze it and then press again. That's what i did. I pressed all night then froze until i was ready to use. Pressed again for about on hour. It gave it the right texture. I used a packet seasoning this time and squeezed a lime on there. I dont think it needs tomato sauce cooked with it. I served it the first day with tacos and the next day with tostadas. My husband ate all the tacos not realizing it wasn't carne :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vella_marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was fabulous! Exceeded my expectations. I only had plain tofu so I increased some of the seasonings to our own taste. I ate it like a taco salad and my vegetarian guest ate it in a taco and both were great. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States