Tofu Tacos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Easy to make and very flavorful. My husband enjoyed and said I could make them again The ultimate seal of approval. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
make it vegan - skip the cheese and sub vegan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope Valley, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Union, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
If you freeze, thaw, and dry the tofu in a 200° oven before soaking and cooking it, it acquires a meat-like chewy texture. I used regular tofu, and I added about 2 Tbs. crushed dry oregano, 2 tsp cumin, 3 large cloves of chopped garlic plus 1 Tbs of granulated garlic, and 2 Tbs of two different kinds of chili powder. I also added some Beef flavored "Better Than Bullion" to give the tofu a beefy flavor and color. They ate it up without even realizing they were eating tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brother William

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I love this recipe. I froze my tofu overnight to get a true "meat" texture. Hubby did not even know it was tofu mixed with lean turkey! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elysian27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emory, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Martinville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Fiancé lived this! I too added some basil and oregano wince I had regular tofu, I also added some slices portobello mushrooms and made guacamole, Spanish rice and some black beans on the side! We are new vegetarians and did not expect them to be as great as they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Yum!! We added a bit more cumin and cayenne. Couldn't find the garden herb tofu so substituted firm tofu instead. Even my son liked it who was not too thrilled to hear we were having tofu tacos. Thanks for a great, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I enjoyed this toful alternative. Will definitely make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
In the word's of my 7 year old, "Mommy, Can every Sunday be taco night?" followed by her sister with a "These are the best tacos ever." No one missed the beef or knew it was even missing for that matter. Delicioius and easy and I even got a thanks for dinner from both of them ; ) !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I use regular firm tofu that has been frozen and thawed. I add lots of vegetables to the tofu mix, including bell peppers, mushroom, zucchini, cauliflower, fresh tomatoes, or whatever is in my fridge. I often add half a can of diced tomatoes and about a teaspoon of cumin in addition to the regular spices. I make this at least once every 2 weeks - my boyfriend and I love it! We make it vegan by using vegan wraps and only topping it with avocado instead of cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was excellent for our first time trying tofu! My 12 year old ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Wikert

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States