Tofu Tacos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My family has never been vegetarian, though I've always had an interest in it. I simply don't agree with how farm animals are treated. The other day I was at the supermarket, and I spotted the vegetarian foods' section. Out of curiosity, I ended up taking home a package of fake meat protein crumbles, and used this recipe in the preparation. I actually didn't have tomato sauce on hand, so I used mild taco sauce. I also added chopped green pepper while cooking the tofu. Now, I gave it four stars only because I'm used to eating real meat as opposed to a substitute. It was a very good recipe and tasted pretty good, and I think I could've easily been fooled into thinking that it was meat. I will probably have this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I added black beans and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was very good!! I did alter it a little. I'm not a vegitarian and was afraid the texture of the tofu would bother me so I added a little bit of ground turkey with the tofu for better texture. I also added a packet of taco seasoning along with all the other ingredients! I didn't tell my husband it was tofu because im sure he wouldnt eat it. He had seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
When I tried the tofu mixture on its own it had an unappealing "dried spice" flavor. But once it was tucked into a hard shell with all the accouterments it immediately brought to mind the Ortega mix/beef tacos of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Wonderful recipe, best tasting tofu I've ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This recipe was so good. Instead of all the spices, I used Trader Joes taco seasoning packet and I used Trader Joes chopped onion, shallot and garlic. So good that I am making this at least once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Yum! All everyone loved it and fought over it for lunch the next day. Flavours were wonderful; cilantro really punched it up. I used firm tofu and it didn't mush up in the sauce. Will be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I love tofu – and look for recipes that I will enjoy. My husband & 22 year old son loved this and gave it a 5/5. They loved the spice and flavor which surprised me because my husband hates tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This was very good and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Much better than a packet of taco seasoning from the store! We love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States