Tofu Tacos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I'm not a big fan of tofu but wanted to try this. And i also like to keep a recipe as close to the original on the first try. I usually eat bean or soy crumble tacos. I had regular firm tofu and there is a recipe on here for Taco seasoning 1 that i like to keep on hand instead of seasoning packets so i used that. And didn't have tomato sauce so i used Herdez Mexican tomato sauce. So it was close and i was surprised at how much i liked it thanks Ok so i wasn't crazy about this for tacos but think it would be great for breakfast burritos as the tofu is more like scrambled eggs. But i am going to use the recipe on soy crumbles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Amazing! Subbed the tomato sauce for chipotle-adobo puree for extra spice. Recommended and will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was great. Pressed the tofu between 2 plates for a few minutes then crumbled it with a spoon. Made the tofu mixture as called for, but feel like it would be even better with more spices or maybe a taco seasoning packet. I didn't notice any big wow from the cilantro, so if we weren't already cutting it up for some pico de gallo I would have probably skipped it. Served in flour tortillas & topped with shredded cheese, sour cream, taco sauce, & homemade pico de gallo (onion, tomato, cilantro, & lime juice). Will definitely make this again as not only do I prefer the texture over TVP, but it's cheaper & healthier too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jbertsch
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
The seasoning was perfect in this recipe! I did change a couple things because of what I had on hand but these still turned out amazing. I omitted the tomato sauce and tomatoes and just used salsa in place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbertsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My family has never been vegetarian, though I've always had an interest in it. I simply don't agree with how farm animals are treated. The other day I was at the supermarket, and I spotted the vegetarian foods' section. Out of curiosity, I ended up taking home a package of fake meat protein crumbles, and used this recipe in the preparation. I actually didn't have tomato sauce on hand, so I used mild taco sauce. I also added chopped green pepper while cooking the tofu. Now, I gave it four stars only because I'm used to eating real meat as opposed to a substitute. It was a very good recipe and tasted pretty good, and I think I could've easily been fooled into thinking that it was meat. I will probably have this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I added black beans and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was very good!! I did alter it a little. I'm not a vegitarian and was afraid the texture of the tofu would bother me so I added a little bit of ground turkey with the tofu for better texture. I also added a packet of taco seasoning along with all the other ingredients! I didn't tell my husband it was tofu because im sure he wouldnt eat it. He had seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
When I tried the tofu mixture on its own it had an unappealing "dried spice" flavor. But once it was tucked into a hard shell with all the accouterments it immediately brought to mind the Ortega mix/beef tacos of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Wonderful recipe, best tasting tofu I've ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This recipe was so good. Instead of all the spices, I used Trader Joes taco seasoning packet and I used Trader Joes chopped onion, shallot and garlic. So good that I am making this at least once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States