Tofu Tacos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
We've been trying to go "Meatless in March" and stumbled upon this recipe. Taking the advice of another reviewer, I seasoned my plain tofu with a pinch of oregano, basil, and garlic salt and added a few splashes on balsamic vinegar until the tofu had some flavor. Instead of using tomato sauce, I subbed in a 1/2 cup of medium salsa. Add some guacamole and both my husband and I were very pleasantly surprised. This was our first successful tofu recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Rosenthal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Great flavor, too mushy/liquidy. I would probably use veggie crumbles next time instead of tofu, or toss the tofu in flour to give it a crispier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Easy to make and very flavorful. My husband enjoyed and said I could make them again The ultimate seal of approval. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
make it vegan - skip the cheese and sub vegan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Cintolo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope Valley, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Union, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
If you freeze, thaw, and dry the tofu in a 200° oven before soaking and cooking it, it acquires a meat-like chewy texture. I used regular tofu, and I added about 2 Tbs. crushed dry oregano, 2 tsp cumin, 3 large cloves of chopped garlic plus 1 Tbs of granulated garlic, and 2 Tbs of two different kinds of chili powder. I also added some Beef flavored "Better Than Bullion" to give the tofu a beefy flavor and color. They ate it up without even realizing they were eating tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brother William

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I love this recipe. I froze my tofu overnight to get a true "meat" texture. Hubby did not even know it was tofu mixed with lean turkey! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elysian27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emory, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Martinville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Fiancé lived this! I too added some basil and oregano wince I had regular tofu, I also added some slices portobello mushrooms and made guacamole, Spanish rice and some black beans on the side! We are new vegetarians and did not expect them to be as great as they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Yum!! We added a bit more cumin and cayenne. Couldn't find the garden herb tofu so substituted firm tofu instead. Even my son liked it who was not too thrilled to hear we were having tofu tacos. Thanks for a great, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I enjoyed this toful alternative. Will definitely make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States