Tofu Tacos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Fantastic! Even my son ate this. I just used extra firm tofu and I sauteed in olive oil instead of veg. oil. Didn't have a lime, so I used 2 Tbsp of lime juice. This will go into the regular dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I make these all the time and they were a big hit that is after the shock wore off and the family tasted them. The only thing I changed was that I used plain tofu and added garden spices to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Great vegetarian taco. Very easy to make (took my husband and I about an hour, including making a run to grocery store to buy a few ingredients). Both of us are new to cooking, so were a bit intimidated to try this but it was not too difficult and turned out great. Loved the ingredients, especially the tofu filling which is both spicy and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This satisfied my craving for beef, which we don't eat. Only thing I changed was to slice the tofu thinly & saute till brown. Then I chopped it up, put it back into the pan with the garlic, onion, seasonings etc. Proceeded per the recipe. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Even my meat loving family enjoyed the actual tofu, but it lacks slightly with lettuce and avocado. The next time I made it I made a tabouli salad, guacamole and a hole bunch more stuff to put on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Made these tacos today. I could not find garden herb tofu, so instead I added dried basil, oregano, parsley, and a bit of crushed rosemary to extra firm cubed tofu and mashed it a bit in a bowl. I also juiced 1 1/2 limes for the tanginess (and because the ones I had were not particularly juicy). I also added a bit more salt (we likey salt). This recipe was great! My husband is not a vegetarian, and he loved it! Thanks for a delicious tofu recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crescenta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
These were so yummy! Fast and fresh, I would serve these to any tofu critic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
With my alterations, 5 stars. This was one of the first recipes I ever made with tofu, and now I crave it! I use plenty of the Taco Seasoning I from this site instead of the mix of spices. Saute the onion and garlic for a couple of minutes before adding tofu. Fresh lime juice and cilantro are essential. For the tomato sauce, I use whatever I have on hand: canned tomatoes (my fave), spaghetti sauce, whatever. I serve with black beans, avocado, cilantro, and salsa verde. Makes my omnivore husband forget it's vegan! He told me to never make beef or turkey tacos again. I also use this recipe for making mixed veggie tacos, equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Used plain tofu, didn't have cilantro. We're not vegetarian. 3 yr old loved it, I liked it, hubbie found it lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
less than mediocre - just make the "tasty lentil tacos". These are FAR better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States