Tofu Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I honestly don't know what I did wrong but this dish came out horrible for me. I did read over the reviews and even added some beef bullion but still nope, it was just horrible. no one in my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I followed some suggestions, I only used yogurt, used some beef bullion. I love Beef stroganoff and think next time I will either leave out the tofu or fry it and add it in later for a firmer texture. I also added black pepper at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This was great! My husband didn't know exactly what it was but said it tasted a lot like stroganoff! I added more garlic, less tofu, and some other spices to liven it up a bit. We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
For Stephersnees, who commented about the use of Tofu, I wonder if soft tofu was used instead of firm or extra firm, it really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Did not taste anything like stroganoff at all. very unhappy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very very good. I mixed some extra soy sauce into the tofu at the beginning to help brown. I also used a container of sour cream instead of the cottage cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky River, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Looking at some of the pictures and reading the reviews, thought I'd point out to be sure and buy extra-firm tofu. After you drain it, give it a rinse, shake off as much water as you can, then lay on top of a couple of folded paper towels. Put a few folded towels on top, then slightly squish between two plates. You want to pull out the excess moisture which is making it too wet and as one reviewer mentioned "goo". After it's cut into cubes, I'd put it between paper towels and VERY gently squish some more. Don't press so hard you distort the shape. This helps to make tofu cooking more successful. Make sure you saute it on all sides until it's golden brown. Also, you can make a roux with equal amounts of flour and butter (1-2 tablespoons) and paprika, then add to the liquid in your pan to thicken it up. If you still don't like the flavor, consider adding a tablespoon or two of tomato paste. I think that might help a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I made this recipes exactly as is except cut everything in half for two people. It was excellent and my vegetarian son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
sorry but i really didn't find this recipe appealing at all. i had to add sugar because it's so sour, put in 2 bullion cubes and some salt because it's so bland, and put in a packet of Ikea's gravy to make it gravy-like, similar to traditional stroganoff. i probably would use beef next time & find a really good recipe. this one wouldn't be missed by me or my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I really didn't like this recipe at all. At first added all ingredients as indicated and it was way too bland, so I added more soy sauce. Well that made it taste really off. However, my boyfriend and uncle both loved it, so maybe it just wasn't my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States