Tofu Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Changed a few things to make this better (for us) and the changes are what makes it 5 stars--as it is written and prepared, would only give it 3.5 or 4 stars. First, diced the onions and sauteed the onions and garlic in extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil until browned and very tender, then added some beef boullion/base to give it a beef flavor and then added the mushrooms and tofu cubes, after they were cooked, used 12 ounces fat-free sour cream with the fresh dill as we didn't like how the cottage cheese didn't result in as creamy a sauce. Because we used the beef/boullion/soup base, we left out the soy sauce. We also used whole wheat wide noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I changed this recipie to suit my family I added a lot more mushrooms and used a little cream and ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. I also used more garlic. My family loved it! They asked me to make it again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
We all rated this a 4, good but not great. I made the following changes: only 1 pkg tofu (which still fed 4), whole wheat noodles, lowfat ricotta for cottage cheese, nonfat yougurt for sour cream, and only 1 T soy sauce. It was simple to make but the tofu took longer to brown than I expected - start it a few minutes BEFORE you put the water on to boil for the noodles. My noodles were done way before the rest of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This was a really tasty way to make stroganoff minus ground beef. I made it for my boyfriend and even though he isn't the biggest fan of tofu he loved it! I did make some minor adjustments to the recipe because I didn't have cottage cheese on hand. I used ricotta cheese and extra sour cream with about a 1/4 cup of milk. I did add a little more soy sauce than the recipe called for. Just an fyi- make sure to put butter on your egg noodles after you drain them so they don't stick. I forgot and had clumps of noodles. :) I would make this again and try it with the cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAMARIE1971

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
My young family loves this dish, even the 3 year old. I used whole wheat noodles. I used about 1/2 cup sour creme because we did not have cottage cheese. I had basil on hand so I used that instead of dill. It is the soy sauce that gives it the good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee's Technique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Very tasty recipe. The dill adds a nice flavour. I added extra sour cream, and also added a small amount of tomato paste to the sour cream/cottage cheese mix for extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Too bland for my taste. I suggest doubling or tripling amount of onions, garlic, dill & soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
The flavor was very good and tasty. I converted the ingredients to a 2 people meal instead of 4. I followed all steps in recipe. The only down side that I find is that it came out very dry. I am definitly making it again but this time I will add more sour cream or cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I used all sour cream, and lots of dried dill. Also about 4 big cloves of garlic. It was scrumptious and we fought over the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Yummy!! Everyone loved it and it's surprising how much it tastes like beef stroganof! Great flavor, thanks for a fantastic vegetarian recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States