Tofu Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Changed a few things to make this better (for us) and the changes are what makes it 5 stars--as it is written and prepared, would only give it 3.5 or 4 stars. First, diced the onions and sauteed the onions and garlic in extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil until browned and very tender, then added some beef boullion/base to give it a beef flavor and then added the mushrooms and tofu cubes, after they were cooked, used 12 ounces fat-free sour cream with the fresh dill as we didn't like how the cottage cheese didn't result in as creamy a sauce. Because we used the beef/boullion/soup base, we left out the soy sauce. We also used whole wheat wide noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I changed this recipie to suit my family I added a lot more mushrooms and used a little cream and ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. I also used more garlic. My family loved it! They asked me to make it again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
We all rated this a 4, good but not great. I made the following changes: only 1 pkg tofu (which still fed 4), whole wheat noodles, lowfat ricotta for cottage cheese, nonfat yougurt for sour cream, and only 1 T soy sauce. It was simple to make but the tofu took longer to brown than I expected - start it a few minutes BEFORE you put the water on to boil for the noodles. My noodles were done way before the rest of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This was a really tasty way to make stroganoff minus ground beef. I made it for my boyfriend and even though he isn't the biggest fan of tofu he loved it! I did make some minor adjustments to the recipe because I didn't have cottage cheese on hand. I used ricotta cheese and extra sour cream with about a 1/4 cup of milk. I did add a little more soy sauce than the recipe called for. Just an fyi- make sure to put butter on your egg noodles after you drain them so they don't stick. I forgot and had clumps of noodles. :) I would make this again and try it with the cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAMARIE1971

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
My young family loves this dish, even the 3 year old. I used whole wheat noodles. I used about 1/2 cup sour creme because we did not have cottage cheese. I had basil on hand so I used that instead of dill. It is the soy sauce that gives it the good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee's Technique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Very tasty recipe. The dill adds a nice flavour. I added extra sour cream, and also added a small amount of tomato paste to the sour cream/cottage cheese mix for extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
The flavor was very good and tasty. I converted the ingredients to a 2 people meal instead of 4. I followed all steps in recipe. The only down side that I find is that it came out very dry. I am definitly making it again but this time I will add more sour cream or cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I used all sour cream, and lots of dried dill. Also about 4 big cloves of garlic. It was scrumptious and we fought over the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Too bland for my taste. I suggest doubling or tripling amount of onions, garlic, dill & soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Yummy!! Everyone loved it and it's surprising how much it tastes like beef stroganof! Great flavor, thanks for a fantastic vegetarian recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States