Tofu Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This recipe was good, but a little too much tofu for me. Next time, I will make two adjustments -- 1 package of tofu instead of two and more soy sauce (really wonderful flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Good - it actually tastes like real stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Changed a few things to make this better (for us) and the changes are what makes it 5 stars--as it is written and prepared, would only give it 3.5 or 4 stars. First, diced the onions and sauteed the onions and garlic in extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil until browned and very tender, then added some beef boullion/base to give it a beef flavor and then added the mushrooms and tofu cubes, after they were cooked, used 12 ounces fat-free sour cream with the fresh dill as we didn't like how the cottage cheese didn't result in as creamy a sauce. Because we used the beef/boullion/soup base, we left out the soy sauce. We also used whole wheat wide noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was pretty good, but maybe missing something? Perhaps I'll use more onion, garlic, salt, pepper and soy sauce next time. I really liked the dill, and I think I would like a more instense flavor over all. Definately worth making if you like stroganoff but want it meatless; like I mentioned, I would amp up the flavor a bit more. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
We all rated this a 4, good but not great. I made the following changes: only 1 pkg tofu (which still fed 4), whole wheat noodles, lowfat ricotta for cottage cheese, nonfat yougurt for sour cream, and only 1 T soy sauce. It was simple to make but the tofu took longer to brown than I expected - start it a few minutes BEFORE you put the water on to boil for the noodles. My noodles were done way before the rest of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
A good recipe but I think the soya sauce overpowers the flavor. Will use less next time,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This recipe is great as is! We make this often as a standard and it's wonderful and more healthy than typical stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This was a great meal. I would recommend broiling the tofu instead of frying to remove excess water. We spent almost an hour cooking down two packs of tofu - it would have taken maybe 20 min in the broiler! Which is another thing...there are only two of us in my house, so next time we will half this recipe. We were eating this for a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
My young family loves this dish, even the 3 year old. I used whole wheat noodles. I used about 1/2 cup sour creme because we did not have cottage cheese. I had basil on hand so I used that instead of dill. It is the soy sauce that gives it the good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee's Technique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This was yummy, but as I was without dill the real kick in this dish came from the soy sauce. I think nect time I might just slice the tofu to make it easier to brown and then cube it afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States